Glock 42, Still The Best .380 Self Defense Pistol?

glock 42 review

Could this be the ultimate .380 for EDC? One writer thinks so.

Glock 42 Review

Is this the ultimate .380 concealed carry gun?

A few years back, before the advent of the Glock 43 and later the Sig Sauer P365 that would later steal my heart and occupy my IWB holster. A friend and I enjoyed an after-class beverage with an instructor, Jerod Johnson. He's earned my respect by delivering dynamic, memorable learning experiences. Johnson, of STA Training Group in Arizona, is a former Marine scout sniper and industry insider.

In other words, not the first person you might expect to sing the praises of a little .380. I was somewhat surprised, then, when he produced one from his concealment holster, saying, “the Glock 42 is the best concealed carry gun there is.”

Surprised and slightly relieved better describes my reaction, seeing as how I was also concealing a Glock 42 at the time. Johnson gave his reasons for liking this little gun and backs it up by shooting it as well as any full-size pistol. Reflecting on his statement in 2018, I pondered whether this logic still holds. I believe it does, at least for the .380 ACP class, and in one way, it’s still true overall.

The G42 has been reviewed to death online and print. So this post is more of a personal approach to a review. The technical details are available elsewhere. Here, I’ll examine the elements of why I think the “best-concealed carry gun” claim is still mostly valid.

Glock 42 Trigger

Manufacturers have a penchant for putting lousy triggers on 380s. In an outright insult to many concealed carriers, they assume your finger will be on the trigger when the sights aren’t on target and you’ve not decided to shoot. To compensate for your assumed negligence, they outfit these guns with very long or heavy trigger pulls and a reset that goes back out to full extension.

In doing so, they make accurate shots much, much harder to make. Rapidity and accuracy are a near-impossibility for most shooters with such a trigger. When statistics show that one round only stops the attack 23 percent of the time, whereas two rounds increase the likelihood of success to more than 60 percent, a good trigger is necessary.

glock 42, 43, 19 and 17

Bonus advantage: if you can handle one Glock, you can handle ‘em all.  L-R: Glock 42, 43, 19, and 17.

Glock Simple operation

The Glock 42's operation is simple. It has a slide lock lever and goes to slide-lock on an empty mag. The G42 has an adjustable rear sight and, as stated above, has a 5.5-pound trigger with a decent reset.

Stacked onto the simplicity factor is the absence of safety levers that require a conscious operation. It's my opinion that mechanical measures do not supplant responsibility for safe gun handling and storage! If you want a manual external safety on your EDC, great, but it isn't necessary.

It’s a significant advantage to dry fire the gun you conceal without fussing around with fake magazines or other features that, like a heavy, long trigger, imply distrust or stupidity by the operator. One essential way to become more competent is to dry fire. The many .380s on the market that don’t permit this hinder their owner's practice.

By paring LASRX with a Laser Dot Trainer, you can make dry fire challenging and unlock a whole new world of practice possibilities. Consider following along with the Shooter Ready Challenge for ideas on dry fire practice.

Slim .380 concealment

glock 42 holster .380

Many custom holster options exist for the G42. KSG Armory makes a top-tier holster for many popular EDC guns, including the Glock 42.

Compared to other .380s, the tiny Glock is about the same in terms of concealability. Made-for-concealment firearms like the Taurus curve might be more concealable, but the Taurus and other micro-compact, .380s come with a host of problems, the G42 just doesn seem to have. For the reasons previously mentioned, I still reach for the G42 on days when the G43 or Sig P365 are a little too prominent under the clothing du jour.

Accessory-friendly

Unlike the usual wait-a-year-and-see, the accessory side of the industry responded immediately to the G42’s release with complimentary gear. Blade-Tech was the first I noticed to release a Kydex holster customized for the gun.

Not long after the US release of the Glock 42, Streamlight rolled out an innovative and excellent product, the TLR-6 laser/light combo, just for the G42. It attaches to the trigger guard without impeding operation or safety, is full of options, and adds little to the gun’s profile.

What’s more, the company charged less than $100 for this new model while mysteriously charging more for later models to fit other guns. I’ve used this light for several years and save for one corroded battery, and it’s functioned without fail.

Truglo also makes and still makes an array of sights for this gun. I chose a three-dot tritium setup.

glock 42 tritium night sights .380

This Glock 42 carries Truglo tritium sights and a Streamlight TLR-6 light/laser for low-light accuracy and target ID.

On the downside, Glock doesn’t make, nor have I found, aftermarket extended magazines that function as desired. Both brands I’ve tried purport an increase capacity to 8+1, and both fail to feed when stuffed full. The most I can only increase capacity by one round.

The test of time

Since the Glock 42's advent, the industry has rolled out more guns that meet most or all of the traits described here. Unfortunately, most are 9mm. Those wanting the reduced weight and recoil of .380 can now find a superior trigger and greater than 6+1 capacity but difficult concealment in the Browning 1911-380. Ruger overhauled its LCP to make a more shoot-able, concealment-friendly LCP II, with a vastly improved trigger and a plethora of interfering safety devices.

.380 vs 45 acp

The Browning 1911-.380 offers a better trigger and two more rounds of capacity, not to mention better looks, but is tough to conceal.

Here are my gripes with the Glock 42 because it isn’t perfect.

It could use an even better trigger with a lighter break. Glock should produce an extended magazine and improve capacity. But it is a reliable shooter that remains alone in its class for .380 carry by the safe and competent gun handler.

To Recap:

Glock 43 Pros:

  • Simple Operation
  • Accessory Friendly
  • Reliable
  • Concealable

Glock 43 Cons:

  • Mushy Glock Trigger
  • No Extended magazines

Glock 42 Specifications

DescriptionSpecification
Overall Length5.94"
Slide Length5.75"
Barrel Length3.25"
Overall Width0.98"
Slide Width0.83"
Height W/Flush Magazine4.13"
Weight W/O Magazine12.17 oz
Trigger Travel2.4"
Average MSRP$350-475

I bought this G42 at market price with my own money.

About Eve Flanigan

Eve Flanigan is a defensive shooting and lifestyle student, practitioner, and instructor based in the American Southwest. She is a lifelong recreational rifle shooter who began carrying concealed in 2004, which evolved into an interest in defensive handgun training and competing. Flanigan holds NRA Instructor certifications in pistol, rifle, and personal protection in the home. She is licensed to instruct New Mexico’s intensive Concealed Carry course, and regularly designs, conducts, and co-teaches classes on concealed carry, introduction to pistol, defensive pistol, basic rifle, last-ditch medical, and use of force for civilian students. Flanigan enjoys competing in run-and-gun biathlons that include carbine and pistol.

63 Comments

  1. Ronald Walters on October 8, 2019 at 12:47 am

    Just purchased a Glock 42, 380. I also have a Glock 17 and 43. As concealed firearms go, you can’t beat its size. You can literally put it in your front pocket where it will fit quite wonderfully. It cannot be seen because of its size. But it also has some power to it. Shooing 380 rounds does not put you at a disadvantage. It’s a powerful bullet. I love it.

    • john perry on June 29, 2020 at 4:54 pm

      Hey..can do head shots at 20 ft..no problem. Get the tridium sights..so cool at nite

      • PETER HOBMAN on March 16, 2021 at 9:14 pm

        My Bersa Firestorm 380 will put 7 shots in your eye socket at 30 feet!

        • Walter Knight on January 16, 2022 at 9:12 pm

          That is a tall tale. Shoot straight, be safe, pray.

        • Dave Egeland on January 28, 2024 at 3:45 am

          ‘Musta’ been a HUGE octopus!

        • MARK BAUER on April 26, 2024 at 11:19 pm

          I believe it. Had one. Just would not fit in a pocket. Reliable too.

    • Jose on October 16, 2020 at 2:37 pm

      The .380 SCCY CPX3 is shorter in length but a bit taller than the Glock but the SCCY has 10+1 capacity!

      • Dan on January 9, 2021 at 4:23 pm

        I got one a few months ago for my wife. Questionable quality, and the trigger pull is miles long. Horrible horrible trigger. Just ordered her a 42 in purple, lol.

        • hose hosea on January 29, 2024 at 12:10 pm

          The build is excellent and it fits your hand like no other gun. If you think you got a bad one, call SCCY………they actually like to talk to customers and encourage them to call. The trigger becomes second nature after about 50-100 rounds. Train your mind to it and it’s a great gun.

      • Ryan on May 3, 2023 at 11:56 am

        Yeah, but it’s a SCCY which I wouldn’t wish on my worst enemy. Cheap, unreliable garbage.

        • Hose Hosea on January 29, 2024 at 12:08 pm

          I own several .380 SCCY’s. Love them!! The loooong trigger pull is there for a reason: safety, and once you’ve used it for a bit it becomes second nature. And, they are built in America (in Florida) and they make all components in-house for them except for the springs! And they come in a nice box with trigger lock and key and two mags! And they’re just about the only company (except for Henry) where they actually like talking to the customer and are easy to reach on the phone. And the price: can’t beat it….something like $259!!!

    • John Weber on July 13, 2022 at 4:54 am

      I’m making this statement as my own personal experience and not saying it’s for everyone, in laymen’s terms different people will get different results. As a retired law enforcement officer, part of our qualifications was as to draw and fire 2 shots in 1 second at a distance inside of less than 3 yards with the gun secured against your hip for maximum retention. I never had a problem doing it with my duty weapon a Glock 22 gen4. For some reason it wasn’t included with our off duty weapon which for me was a Glock 26, the G26 would fail to feed the 2nd shot because of my less than optimal grip. Which meant my off duty weapon was going to be a 38spcl snubby. Well I tried the G43 next, same problem, alas the Glock 42 works for me, it took me almost 3 years to find the 380acp Glock and it was worth the wait. As I started writing this response I always realize would works for some won’t work for others and one should always practice for the worst case scenarios. This was a good review.

      • Joe Boe on January 31, 2023 at 3:41 pm

        That’s the strangest story I’ve ever heard. The 42 is hands down the least reliable pistol Glock has ever made. A close 2nd would be the 19 Gen 4, but at least Glock admitted the 19 had issues and fixed em. Where as the 42 still to this day glock officially has done nothing yet there are clearly changes to the mags twice (marked 02 and then 03) on the mag itself. In contrast people complaining of having failures with the 26 and 43 are practically non existent. You sir are an anomaly

        • AnArmorer on April 29, 2023 at 2:50 pm

          Nonsense. Only the early 42 mags had issues. New ones have “03” mags and Glock will exchange any older ones. My 42 is upwards of 1k with the typical 100.00% reliability.

        • Tom on January 19, 2024 at 10:00 pm

          FWIW, feed it what it likes and my Glock 42 is 100% reliable with 95gr FMJ , and Remington HTP 88gr and are very accurate. The Hornady XTP bullets hang up on the feed ramp occasionally when the gun is dirty. Other bullets similar to the XTP are also problematic. I practice on beer/soda cans at 35 yards and I generally hit them 5 times out of 7 with the stock sights. I carry in a Sticky Holster #5 tucked inside my waist band, left front using a cross draw pull. The recoil is very soft and is a pleasure to shoot. The stock 2 spring guide rod setup works very well. Follow up shots are very manageable.

  2. Marilyn Jones on October 19, 2019 at 6:01 am

    I’ve read comments about the gun failing to feed or stove piping. What do you know about this?

    • john perry on June 29, 2020 at 4:47 pm

      Great pistol..bought special ammo that will do 1/2 inch at 13 inches..thats enough..milwaukee police..retired

      • Jose on October 16, 2020 at 2:38 pm

        You mean 13 yds, correct?

    • john perry on June 29, 2020 at 4:49 pm

      Shot over 500 rounds..if u hold it rite no problems..practice yur grip

      • Jay N. Robbins on September 5, 2021 at 11:54 pm

        I have been carrying my G42 in a fitted horsehide Kramer pocket holster for two years. It’s as large and bulky a gun I wish to carry all day. It’s neither large nor bulky but unless I have a gunfight scheduled, I don’t want to carry anything bigger all day.

        I am an old revolver guy. Reserve Deputy in Dade County Florida back in the day. I carried a stainless J-Frame S&W 60 for decades after hours. The miniature Glock reminds me of my revolver: fires every time, absolutely accurate at combat range, manageable recoil and not hard to conceal.

        • Walter Knight on January 16, 2022 at 9:16 pm

          Jay what ammo are you using. Shoot straight, stay safe, pray.

    • Canfield on January 20, 2021 at 11:53 pm

      With factory 95 grain ammo neber had a problem. With reloads, nothing but problems.

    • B kriv on September 27, 2021 at 3:36 pm

      Just bought a new g42, mfg date june 2021. Me and 2 other shooters, three trips to the range. Went through 400 rounds. Constant jams, ftf,fte,stovepopes, failure to fire,(trigger loaded, no bang no slide movement, think slide never returned weapon to battery, some what is called jam attempted due to double feed.
      I cleared all jams, no one was thumbing slide, no limpwristing.
      All experienced, talked to glock.
      Made no changes, stored slide locked back an mags loaded to try to manipulate spring tension.
      Sent to glock came back no reporr came with it, cslled glock, armorer did not report anything, said loaded 9 mags shot all no failures.
      We took gun to range and it worked flawlessly for 120 various rounds all types and different quality new ammo.
      IT FELT LIKE A COMPLETELY DIFFERENT GUN.
      I recalled glock asked for a supervisor. Told him if u think i am going. To believe youns did nothing, that would be a very far fetched unlikely situation.
      He read armors report, she did not report anything, disassembled an reassembled, found nothing.
      His answer is it must hav been a stacking of tolerances that then balanced out when she reassembled the gun.
      I told him i do not believe that.
      Told him i worked in a machine shop for 25 years, and with the malfunctions i was experiencing would not apply. They are all stamped steel,then final alighnment in an inspection gague, only serious machining would be the single locking lug, that locks into ejection port (and that is not a rocket science cut),
      The barrel porting of the barrel throat, of which this model has no barrel porting an breech size.
      YOU B THE JUDGE nothing done, however it works perfect upon warranty return, with same original shooters ,who were conscious of operator errors in first place. My opinion, something waz replaced an glock wants to keep it quiet to avoid return expence (because it does not cause malfunctions in all the 42 pistols.
      And or armoror checked some parts in an inspection jig, made a minor more conforming bend, and or adjusted something like the extractor.
      Be careful now with the honest Q C of this company

      • Jeff Daniels on May 24, 2022 at 7:52 am

        “Youins”

      • Chad on September 4, 2022 at 1:34 pm

        Did you disassemble and clean it before taking it to the range? Big long post of yours but no where did you mention yourself cleaning he weapon. Just saying..

    • Ken on January 9, 2022 at 11:08 am

      Mines never failed to fire or jammed..had it for 10 plus years..

      • Dan Wenzel on February 9, 2022 at 8:32 pm

        The Glock 42 hasnt been out for 10 years, it was introduced early 2014.

        • Kandy on August 21, 2022 at 7:28 am

          8 years not 10

      • GEO DUBOIS on April 12, 2022 at 1:03 pm

        um no way….not that long in productionLIAR

        • Anthony Colca on January 29, 2024 at 9:22 pm

          I have had glock42 for at least 5 years at my age remember in longer applies. It is a small glock works everytime it us in my pocket 24/7 has all the quality and performance of larger glock.one thing you may want to keep in mind with a 380 because the gun is small and not a lot of recoil you may unconsciously lighten the grip. I also like the 6 round mag with pinkie extension I tried pearce +1extension had feed problems. Love the gun

    • John on February 22, 2023 at 5:58 pm

      Just bought a Glock 42. 30 rounds later and only 3 of them did not jam.

    • Anthony Colca on January 21, 2024 at 10:07 am

      Can’t say for sure without being there but a lot of problems with small light guns is referred to as limp writing it is usually done unconsciously grip the gun securely in position as you would a larger gun. That is really the only problem I have ever had with both of my 380 I have a g42 and a walther pk380 love both of them

    • Keith on April 8, 2024 at 9:36 pm

      U have one that is nothing but problems with. Jamms every time. Best was 3 rds before it would jam up. Didn’t seem to slide/recoil. It miss fired , got one of my fingers. Nobody’s finger was close to the trigger. The bullets that I did get to get out had sharp cuts from the gun.

  3. Ed Blondell on October 30, 2019 at 8:22 pm

    I bought a Glock 42 in 2016 and had about one round each magazine that would not feed. I called Glock and they said the magazine was the problem. The magazines that came with the gun had a 2 on the bottom, floorplate. I sent them back to Glock and they sent me two magazines that had a 3 on the bottom and they shot great. I usually like a 9mm but the 42 is so easy to conceal it’s my favorite carry gun. It’s comfortable to shoot and reliable. I have about 800 rounds through it without a problem since I replaced the magazines that came with the gun.

  4. john perry on June 29, 2020 at 4:50 pm

    First mags were a problem..i bought the 2 round extention..now a nine shot..no problems

    • Frank on August 5, 2020 at 5:36 pm

      Where did you find a 2 round extension for your yoout G42 mags??????

      I was able to find a 1 round addition for the mags but have never seen a 2 round

  5. David on July 2, 2021 at 4:49 pm

    G42 is OK P238 is better New Ruger LCP Max might be king if it’s reliable. Ruger autos have been hit or miss in quality lately.

    • Mike on August 11, 2021 at 8:42 am

      I agree. I have bee comparing the LCP Max and will be handling one shortly. Looks like I may be purchasing one before long. While I am fairly certain (from reviews) that the G42 may be more accurate at longer distances, mostly due to the barrel length, the Max offers 10-12+1 rounds. I expect to see a change in king of the road before too long…The Ruger auto reliability may have an impact. Could you give details?
      Thanks,
      Mike

  6. Carole Wyatt on July 20, 2021 at 9:34 pm

    I have G19. Love it but to big to conceal. I’m interested in G42, however, I have questions. Is it possible to put Holosun circle dot laser on. What front sigh is standard? Can Backstrap be changed to fit my hand? Does Glocj make an extended mag for 42?

  7. B Sadanand on July 25, 2021 at 7:14 am

    I presently live in India, India is also not so peaceful as you people may assume, there r many things go without anyones knowledge, chiefly due to political upheavels & other things so I want to buy a small firearm for self protection, will your company sell me such concealed firearm for self defense? I also have applied for a local license to retain a gun for genuine cause, we also have faced situations like 9/11 so this request is quite serious. I am a Senior Citizen & my child lives in other city in India. Please send me proper answer at earliest without fuss.

  8. Marin Velcev on August 18, 2021 at 1:05 pm

    I was very surprised by recoil of Glock 42, which is very pleasant and much better than most of other .380 ACP mouse pistols. It is recoil operated pistol as any other Glock. Most of other .380 mouse pistols are blow-back operated.The other, even bigger positive surprise is accuracy. To about 15 meters it is as accurate as Glock 17 or Glock 26. Trigger is OK for people adjusted to bigger Glocks. I am quite amazed by this pistol.

  9. Dave on January 5, 2022 at 1:45 pm

    I’ve fallen in love with the size of this gun. It fits neatly in the center console of my car while in its holster. It is easy to carry and makes almost no imprint on my shirt even with an OWB holster. However, I’ve discovered that it doesn’t like all types of ammo and it did not like +1 or +2 magazine extensions. Anybody who is considering using it as an EDC should spend a fair amount of time at the range validating that the combo of ammo and any mods work reliably.

  10. Anthony Colca on February 6, 2022 at 9:27 pm

    The glock 42 shoots as good as a large one any of them g17 36 19 that is what impressed me most .380 are not accurate and are not made very well glocks are made to shoot good and stand up to sustained fire granted the gun probably won’t be used in sustained gunfire but I want the quality there.definitely the best .380 out there

  11. JD on March 11, 2022 at 11:44 am

    my glock 42 is a piece of junk it jams stove pipes ftf glock junk made in the usa

    • Phil on May 13, 2022 at 7:02 pm

      Stove piping is usually a result of a weak grip on the gun (limp wristing). My wife had the same problem. She worked on her grip, no more stove piping.

      • Chad on September 4, 2022 at 1:37 pm

        Did you clean it thoroughly? Call Glock..

    • AJ on May 20, 2023 at 6:05 pm

      I love this gun but cannot trust it . Run Hornady and is the smoothest most reliable little gun…..Run any other ammo you would feel safer carrying a BB gun instead. Jam and Jam!

  12. JD on March 12, 2022 at 6:44 pm

    The best 380 is not a Glock the most reliable and concealable I have in my collection is a Taurus 738 my Glock 42 jams all the time what a piece of junk, the taurus 738 is very reliable and very accurate for a close range pistol belly gun. And its made in the USA Also.

  13. Kevin Fisher on June 25, 2022 at 9:13 pm

    Have had my Glock 42 for awhile. I put in a tungsten guide rod, changed the connector, and the plunger spring. Trigger pull is 4 lbs and the gun shoots like a dream with all ammo.

  14. Brian Brown on September 19, 2022 at 9:10 pm

    I have a G42 and used to have two. The black one I sold was more prone to feed jams than the one I still have. The one I have now is gray, though the color makes no difference. These are sweet little guns. I bought a Kimber Micro 380. It is a more precise hole maker than the Glock. Iam still getting used to the single action part, which many claim is safer for carry, though I doubt it would ever be the quickest to be ready to shoot in 2 seconds or less. I am not a fan of ‘cock and lock’ carry.

    I am going to get used to the single action over time, but I am keeping the G42. The biggest gripe I have on the G42 is that it is rare that Glock offers one with factory night sights. Right now, I am leaning heavily on using the Micro 100% of the time. If that works out, the G42 will get sold.

  15. GunDick on April 3, 2023 at 12:49 pm

    I’ve had my G42 for several years, gone through various aftermarket mods, and found some that were junk, and a few that made the gun more manageable as my CC of choice. On Amazon, I found an extension to 8 rds from Strike Industries that works perfectly, no failures, helps grip. Pearce was good but no extra rounds. No longer show on Amazon. Then found slide “wings” (like on the VP9) and for my old, damaged hands, works extremely well for racking along with Arachnigrip decals. Though I CC my P365 now, the G42 is still a favorite that shoots very well after over 5,000 rounds.

  16. Jim on May 15, 2023 at 10:35 am

    I’m considering buying a G42. Going through all of these reviews, I’m NOT sold yet

    My H&K VP9B is heavy and isn’t concealable. I’m no amateur, been shooting since I was very young.

    Simply put, without going to the rental /range models of 42s, give me a Yes or No on this Glock, please

    • Hedger on July 16, 2023 at 10:15 am

      Yes. It is a great pistol for CCW. It is very small and light weight. I really do not notice it when I am carrying. I love my 43X, but the 42 is so much easier to conceal that in many cases the 42 wins out. It is small enough to pocket carry too with the right holster.

      I chose it over the 43 due to the flexibility it give me and the size of the pistol. I love the 43X and the 42 gives me more options than the 43. The added benefit is that the lower recoils vs. the 43 makes it easier for my wife to shoot and to get more rounds down range (and on target) faster than a 43.

      With regards to reliability I have read reviews and seen experiences where people reported FTF/FTE. After hundreds of rounds I (and my son’s) have not had any issues. One thing we kept in mind with that proper grip is key, high and tight. Based on what I have read this gun is sensitive to limp wristing.

      The 42 and .380 caliber has it’s place. The right ammo is key. I like the Underwood Extreme Defender (non-+P). It shoots well, is accurate, and has good penetration. Understanding that this is not a 9mm, 45 ACP, etc. and there are pros and cons to everything. For SD purposes this works great.

      Tango / Vickers has a +2 extension that works very well and improves the grip.

      I would buy the 42 again.

      Best of luck.

    • Hedger on July 16, 2023 at 10:16 am

      Yes. It is a great pistol for CCW. It is very small and light weight. I really do not notice it when I am carrying. I love my 43X, but the 42 is so much easier to conceal that in many cases the 42 wins out. It is small enough to pocket carry too with the right holster.

      I chose it over the 43 due to the flexibility it give me and the size of the pistol. I love the 43X and the 42 gives me more options than the 43. The added benefit is that the lower recoils vs. the 43 makes it easier for my wife to shoot and to get more rounds down range (and on target) faster than a 43.

      With regards to reliability I have read reviews and seen experiences where people reported FTF/FTE. After hundreds of rounds I (and my son’s) have not had any issues. One thing we kept in mind with that proper grip is key, high and tight. Based on what I have read this gun is sensitive to limp wristing.

      The 42 and .380 caliber has it’s place. The right ammo is key. I like the Underwood Extreme Defender (non-+P). It shoots well, is accurate, and has good penetration. Understanding that this is not a 9mm, 45 ACP, etc. and there are pros and cons to everything. For SD purposes this works great.

      Tango / Vickers has a +2 extension that works very well and improves the grip.

    • Hedger on July 16, 2023 at 10:32 am

      If it helps you the range ammo I used was the PSA AAC .380 100gr FMJ. It is roughly $15 per box, which is a good price right now. I have had zero issues with the ammo at the range. No FTF and No FTE. Proper grip is the key.

      I have also run Hornady American Gunner 90gr XTP, Sig V-Crown, and Underwood Extreme Defender through it with ZERO failures. I personally really like the Underwood Extreme Defender the best. The Underwood Extreme Penetrator runs good too, but my concern is over penetration. Again depending on the situation that may be a better option (out in the woods or something).

      If your concern is personal defense the the “casual” criminal then the 42 with the right ammo should work well. If you can conceal something more powerful that is fine. If you think you need to be prepped to engage at 30 yards you may want a different solution.

      As for me the 42 with the Underwood (or other tested ammo) work fine in addressing my SD concerns and the flexibility I was looking for when I added this to my rotation.

  17. AJ on May 20, 2023 at 6:06 pm

    I love this gun but cannot trust it . Run Hornady and is the smoothest most reliable little gun…..Run any other ammo you would feel safer carrying a BB gun instead. Jam and Jam!

  18. Ken on June 13, 2023 at 2:11 pm

    Is the Glock 42 a double action or a single/double action

    • Matthew Maruster on June 13, 2023 at 3:27 pm

      Ken all Glocks are striker-fired guns, so they are neither double action or double action/sing action.

  19. William Wooten on February 4, 2024 at 1:09 pm

    My G42 is for self defense only, and is the only gun I own now. I had a G33 Sig 357 that sounded like a cannon & snapped like a dragon. I’m 78 my approach is point&shoot at close quarters. When I got the 43 I did have FTF & stovepipe failures. I was looking for personal defense ammo on the internet and found Buffalo Bore. I use this ammo in jacketed conical. Never a failure & recoil you can feel. I pity the fool that breaks into my house. One bullet – two holes front and back

  20. Mich on April 8, 2024 at 7:14 pm

    I recently purchased the Glock 42,it shoots remarkably well !!! I give it an A+ for accuracy,conceal ability etc

  21. MGB on April 22, 2024 at 2:29 pm

    I have the 42 and don’t have issues. I tried some limb wrist shooting and the 42 still ran, I have one mag with the pierce plus one. It has worked with my carry and practice ammo. I like Hornady with the XTP bullets. I use a Kydex IWB, and Desantis pocket holster the most. Will be reviewing a Kydex pocket holster but I am concerned the rigid holster may be uncomfortable in the pocket. I have added cocking aides on two of my slides to great effect and may add a Vickers to the 42. Getting older. The firearm I carry the most is an LCR 327 Federal Magnum ( six shot) revolver.

  22. Darrell Woods on May 8, 2024 at 9:59 am

    As of 12-2023 I Now Own 2 Glock 42 gen4 380acp pistols. I Use ETS 9 round mags. They also sale 12 rounders too.
    These Glocks are THE Funnest shoting handguns I Ever experienced.. Never had a Single Negative Issue What-so-Ever out of Either Glock 42 I Own. I go 1200 rounds thru my first G42.. second 42 I have 750 rounds thru it. All On ETS Mags.
    Got Tridium sights on both Glock 42’s . This Really Helps in Low Light or Dark conditions. Tango Down slide racker, Ghost Inc, 3.5lbs trigger connector, its a Drop-In. Ghost Inc Slide Drop, extended. Lastly, extended Slide Removel lock. These few upgrades really helps in Operating and Cleaning this gun.
    BTW. I carry both . One on my ankle, other in a Sticky Holster inside my Waist Band. To say I love this Little Guns is an Understatement..

Leave a Comment