Top Menu

Constitutional “Permitless” Carry

Summary for Constitutional Carry

Alabama:   No
Alaska:   Yes. No permit is required to open carry or concealed carry for both residents and non residents. Open carry is 18+ and concealed carry is 21+.
Arizona:   Yes. This extends to both Arizona residents and non residents with no permit required to open carry at 18 and none required to concealed carry 21 and up.
Arkansas:   Yes. After some confusion surrounding Act 746 passed in 2013, the AR Court of Appeals decision on Oct 17th 2018 clarifies that "the mere carrying of a handgun is not a crime by itself absent a purpose to attempt to unlawfully employ the handgun..." Thus unlicensed open and concealed carry is legal.
California:   No
Colorado:   No
Connecticut:   No
Delaware:   No
District of Columbia:   No
Florida:   No
Georgia:   No
Hawaii:   No
Idaho:   Yes, but only for ID residents. Non-residents must either open carry or have a recognized permit.
Illinois:   No
Indiana:   No
Iowa:   No
Kansas:   Yes. Both residents and non-resident may carry without a permit.
Kentucky:   Yes. Residents and non-residents 21 or older may carry concealed without a permit.
Louisiana:   No
Maine:   Yes. Both residents and non-residents 21+ may carry concealed without a permit.
Maryland:   No
Massachusetts:   No
Michigan:   No
Minnesota:   No
Mississippi:   Yes, but with exceptions. As of 2016 the law states that no license is required to carry open or concealed at the age of 18+, "in a purse, handbag, satchel, similar bag, briefcase, or fully enclosed case, belt & shoulder holster, and sheath. So in theory an ankle holster or shoulder holster would require a permit.
Missouri:   SB 656 allows for permitless concealed carry for anyone 18 years or older who may lawfully own a gun both residents and non-residents.
Montana:   No
Nebraska:   No
Nevada:   No
New Hampshire:   No permit is required for open carry or concealed carry and applies to both residents and non residents 18+.
New Jersey:   No
New Mexico:   No
New York:   No
North Carolina:   No
North Dakota:   Yes, but only for those who are ND residents for at least 1 year and have in their possession a state issued photo ID.
Ohio:   No
Oklahoma:   Yes, to be effective Nov 1 2019 law allows residents and non residents 21+, or 18+ and in the military, to openly or concealed carry without a permit
Oregon:   No
Pennsylvania:   No
Rhode Island:   No
South Carolina:   No
South Dakota:   Yes, no permit required to open carry or concealed carry for residents and non-residents 18+.
Tennessee:   No
Texas:   No
Utah:   No
Vermont:   Yes. The first state to offer carry without a permit simply because they have never had a permit program or required such a thing to carry. Both residents and non-residents 18+ may carry.
Virginia:   No
Washington:   No
West Virginia:   Yes. No permit is needed to open carry for residents and non residents 18+ and for concealed carry for residents and non residents 21+.
Wisconsin:   No
Wyoming:   Yes, residents ONLY age 21 and older may carry concealed or openly without a permit.
Disclaimer:
While Concealed Carry Inc strives to maintain legal reference information updated on this website; you as the reader and gun owner are responsible to do any and all necessary research and consult with a local attorney before making any decisions. Concealed Carry Inc is not liable for any misinformation, inaccuracies, or actions taken based on this information. We are not attorneys and this information is not legal advice. If you see any information you feel is outdated or incorrect please contact us.

Legal Summaries for all 50 states are available free on our site and mobile app.