Top Menu

Permit Training Requirements By State

Summary for Permit Training Requirements

Alabama:   None.
Alaska:   Must take a state approved handgun course which shall include knowledge of Alaska law relating to firearms and deadly force, familiarity with the basic concepts of safe and responsible use of handguns, knowledge of self-defense principles, and physical competence with a handgun.
Arizona:   An applicant shall demonstrate competence with a firearm through any of the following:

1. Completion of any firearms safety or training course or class that is available to the general public, that is offered by a law enforcement agency, a junior college, a college or a private or public institution, academy, organization or firearms training school and that is approved by the department of public safety or that uses instructors who are certified by the national rifle association.

2. Completion of any hunter education or hunter safety course approved by the Arizona game and fish department or a similar agency of another state.

3. Completion of any national rifle association firearms safety or training course.

4. Completion of any law enforcement firearms safety or training course or class that is offered for security guards, investigators, special deputies or other divisions or subdivisions of law enforcement or security enforcement and that is approved by the department of public safety.

5. Evidence of current military service or proof of honorable discharge or general discharge under honorable conditions from the United States armed forces.

6. A valid current or expired concealed weapon, firearm or handgun permit or license that is issued by another state or a political subdivision of another state and that has a training or testing requirement for initial issuance.

7. Completion of any governmental police agency firearms training course and qualification to carry a firearm in the course of normal police duties.

8. Completion of any other firearms safety or training course or class that is conducted by a department of public safety approved or national rifle association certified firearms instructor.
Arkansas:   Basic 5 hour class for the basic permit or 8 hour enhanced training for the enhanced permit. List of certified instructors maintained online. Any person who becomes a resident of Arkansas who has a valid license by a reciprocal state may apply to transfer his/her license.
California:   Each county can set forth the training requirements to qualify to apply.
Colorado:   Must take a firearm safety class from a certified instructor within 10 years of applying.
Connecticut:   A handgun safety course which must consist of no less than the NRA's Basic Pistol Course. Live fire is also required.
Delaware:   Must complete a course which shall include:
 Instruction regarding knowledge and safe handling of firearms;

b. Instruction regarding safe storage of firearms and child safety;

c. Instruction regarding knowledge and safe handling of ammunition;

d. Instruction regarding safe storage of ammunition and child safety;

e. Instruction regarding safe firearms shooting fundamentals;

f. Live fire shooting exercises conducted on a range, including the expenditure of a minimum of 100 rounds of ammunition;

g. Identification of ways to develop and maintain firearm shooting skills;

h. Instruction regarding federal and state laws pertaining to the lawful purchase, ownership, transportation, use and possession of firearms;

i. Instruction regarding the laws of this State pertaining to the use of deadly force for self-defense; and

j. Instruction regarding techniques for avoiding a criminal attack and how to manage a violent confrontation, including conflict resolution.
District of Columbia:   Must take a class from an instructor certified by the Chief
Florida:   Applicant must take a class from a certified instructor. Class must include a live fire element.
Georgia:   None
Hawaii:   None
Idaho:   Basic permit requires only mimimal training such as hunter education. Enhanced permit requires a full class with live fire.
Illinois:   A minimum of 16 hours of training from a state certified instructor.
Indiana:   None
Iowa:   1. An applicant for an initial permit to carry weapons shall demonstrate knowledge of
firearm safety by any of the following means:
a. Completion of any national rifle association handgun safety training course.
b. Completion of any handgun safety training course available to the general public
offered by a law enforcement agency, community college, college, private or public
institution or organization, or firearms training school, utilizing instructors certified by the
national rifle association or the department of public safety or another state’s department of
public safety, state police department, or similar certifying body.
c. Completion of any handgun safety training course offered for security guards,
investigators, special deputies, or any division or subdivision of a law enforcement or
security enforcement agency approved by the department of public safety.
d. Completion of small arms training while serving with the armed forces of the United
States.
e. Completion of a law enforcement agency firearm safety training course that qualifies a
peace officer to carry a firearm in the normal course of the peace officer’s duties.
f. Completion of a hunter education program approved by the natural resource
commission pursuant to section 483A.27, if the program includes handgun safety training
and completion of the handgun safety training is included on the certificate of completion
Kansas:   You must take a class from an instructor on the approved/certified list maintained by the state. Class will last at least 8 hours and will include live fire.
Kentucky:   Applicants must take a state certified course taught by a state certified instructor.
Louisiana:   Applicant must complete a course. Generally runs 8 hours and must include live fire.More info
Maine:   Basically any NRA official course qualifies.
Maryland:   Wear and Carry Permit training is 16 hours of instruction for an original application and 8 hours of instruction for a renewal application. The approved training is offered by a Qualified Handgun Instructor and will include instruction on state firearm law, home firearm safety, handgun mechanisms and operation, and a component that requires the applicant to demonstrate gun safety and proficiency with a minimum score of 70% accuracy.

Designated security personnel (security guards, private detectives, special police, and armored car drivers/guards) must shoot a practical police course of at least 50 rounds, from no further than 25 yards and score at least 70% accuracy.

All other applicants must shoot a course of at least 25 rounds, from no further than 15 yards and score at least 70% accuracy.
Massachusetts:   "Massachusetts Basic Firearms Safety Course"
Michigan:   Michigan requires a basic handgun training course.
Minnesota:   Required to complete a state certified pistol safety training program.
Mississippi:   No training required for the basic permit. The enhanced permit requires taking a class from a State DPS Certifie Instructor
Missouri:   Must take a course from a qualified instructor
Montana:   You must have completed any one of the following: Montana Hunter Ed Course, State Approved Course, Any course from a National Firearms Group, or possess a DD214
Nebraska:   Take a State Patrol approved training course.
Nevada:   Applicant must complete a 8 hour course that includes a specific live course of fire.
New Hampshire:   None
New Jersey:   Applicant must prove competence. Documentation of training will be required but specifics aren't clear.
New Mexico:   Applicants must complete a 15 hour course that includes live fire. Applicants must take ongoing training courses every 2 years
New York:   Varies by county
North Carolina:   The class consists of a classroom portion and a live range fire portion.
North Dakota:   An applicant for a class 1 license shall successfully participate in a classroom instruction that sets forth
weapon safety rules and the deadly force law of North Dakota, complete an open book test based upon a
manual, demonstrate familiarity with a firearm or dangerous weapon, and complete an actual shooting or
certified proficiency exercise. An applicant for a class 2 license is required to successfully complete the open book test offered for the
class 1 license.
Ohio:   The total time required for training is 8 hours with a minimum of 2 hours of in-person training that consists of range time and live-fire training
Oklahoma:   Complete a firearms safety and training course and demonstrate competence and qualifications with the
type of pistol to be carried by the person as provided in Section 1290.14 of this title, and submit proof of
training and qualification or an exemption for training and qualification as authorized by Section 1290.14 of
this title
Oregon:   Applicants must complete a simple handgun safety course in person. No live fire required.
Pennsylvania:   None
Rhode Island:   Must take a class from a certified NRA instructor.
South Carolina:   (a) a person who, within three years before filing an application, has successfully completed a basic or advanced handgun education course offered by a state, county, or municipal law enforcement agency or a nationally recognized organization that promotes gun safety. This education course must include, but is not limited to:

(i) information on the statutory and case law of this State relating to handguns and to the use of deadly force;

(ii) information on handgun use and safety;

(iii) information on the proper storage practice for handguns with an emphasis on storage practices that reduces the possibility of accidental injury to a child; and

(iv) the actual firing of the handgun in the presence of the instructor;
South Dakota:   The basic permit has no training requirement. To apply for the enhanced permit one must complete a Qualifying handgun course which is taught by a NRA instructor who also has completed a state course on the use of force. The course must include laws, basic use, self-defense principles, and live fire of at least 98 rounds of ammo. 23-7-58
Tennessee:   Take class offered by an instructor certified by the TN Dept of Safety.
Texas:   You must take a training course proving competency with a handgun that is taught by a state certified instructor.
Utah:   Must take state regulated and prescribed class. Classroom only, appx 4 hours.
Vermont:   N/A
Virginia:   Any firearm training course qualifies.
Washington:   There is no required training to get your Washington concealed weapons permit.
West Virginia:   Take a training course which could include any of the following:
(1) Any official National Rifle Association handgun safety or training course;
(2) Any handgun safety or training course or class available to the general public offered by an
official law-enforcement organization, community college, junior college, college or private or public
institution or organization or handgun training school utilizing instructors duly certified by the
institution;
(3) Any handgun training or safety course or class conducted by a handgun instructor certified as
such by the state or by the National Rifle Association;
(4) Any handgun training or safety course or class conducted by any branch of the United States
Military, Reserve or National Guard.
Wisconsin:   Applicants must provide proof of firearm training. Any 1 of the following qualifies: An unrevoked permit from another state, proof of military or law enforcement training, WI Department of Justice Firearm Safety Course, Any firearm safety course taught by a nationally certified instructor (IE NRA or similar). NOTE: ALL the classes we teach and advertise on ConcealedCarry.com qualify.
Wyoming:   None
Disclaimer:
While Concealed Carry Inc strives to maintain legal reference information updated on this website; you as the reader and gun owner are responsible to do any and all necessary research and consult with a local attorney before making any decisions. Concealed Carry Inc is not liable for any misinformation, inaccuracies, or actions taken based on this information. We are not attorneys and this information is not legal advice. If you see any information you feel is outdated or incorrect please contact us.

Legal Summaries for all 50 states are available free on our site and mobile app.