Top Menu

Arkansas Concealed Carry Laws

--------------------------------------

Arkansas Gun Laws

  Open Carry: There is some debate. A recent A.G. opinion asserts that one may open carry while on foot as long as one does not intend to use the handgun to commit a criminal offense.
  Duty to Notify Law Enforcement: Required by law to notify the officer upon official contact or when ID requested
  State Parks: Recognized permitees may carry in open areas but not in any govt buildings.
  Restaurants Serving Alcohol: You may not carry in a bar. Restaurants are ok and are defined in 3-5-1202 as places where complete meals are actually and regularly served and have a seating capacity of at least 50 people and have capacity to serve suitable food for its guests.
  Firearms at Colleges: Concealed guns allowed by law, but schools limit locations/who carries.
  Firearms at K-12 Schools: Arkansas permittee w/loaded handgun lawful in car only.
  Magazine Capacity Limitations: No restrictions
  Suppressor Ownership: Lawful
  Vehicle Possession by Non-Permitees: Loaded handguns anywhere in vehicle and long guns so long as they are in plain view or secured in commercial gun cases.
  Firearm Law Uniformity: Uniform throughout state
  Permit Training Requirements: Basic 5 hour class for the basic permit or 8 hour enhanced training for the enhanced permit. List of certified instructors maintained online. Any person who becomes a resident of Arkansas who has a valid license by a reciprocal state may apply to transfer his/her license.
  Permit Issuing Authority: State Police
  May/Shall Issue: Shall Issue
  State Website: link
  Length of Permit Validity: 5 Years
  Permit Application Process: Complete the required training and complete the license application (preferable online) and send the State Police all the paperwork and fingerprints along with the fee.
  Non-Resident Permits: Only active duty military and their spouse may apply for a non-resident permit.
  Places Off Limits: Public University/College Campuses are off limits unless you have the Arkansas Endorsement on your License to carry.
In addition enjoy this list of prohibited places:
(1) Any police station, sheriff's station, or Department of Arkansas State Police station;
(2) Any Arkansas Highway Police Division of the Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department
facility;
(3) (A) Any building of the Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department or onto grounds
adjacent to any building of the Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department.
(B) However, subdivision (3)(A) of this section does not apply to:
(i) a rest area or weigh station of the Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department;
(ii) A publicly owned and maintained parking lot that is a publicly accessible parking lot if the
licensee is carrying a concealed handgun in his or her motor vehicle or has left the concealed
handgun in his or her locked and unattended motor vehicle in the publicly owned and maintained
www.handgunlaw.us 5
parking lot;
(4) Any part of a detention facility, prison, or jail, including without limitation a parking lot owned,
maintained, or otherwise controlled by the Department of Correction or Department of Community
Correction;
(5) Any courthouse, courthouse annex, or other building owned, leased, or regularly used by a county for
conducting court proceedings or housing a county office unless:
(A) The licensee is either:
(i) Employed by the county; or
(ii) A countywide elected official;
(iii) A justice of the peace; or
(iv)(a) Employed by a governmental entity other than the county with an office or place of
employment inside the courthouse, the courthouse annex, or other building owned, leased, or
regularly used by the county for conducting court proceedings or housing a county office.
(b) A licensee is limited to carrying a concealed handgun under subdivision (5)(A)(iii) of this
section into the courthouse, courthouse annex, or other building owned, leased, or regularly
used by the county for conducting court proceedings or housing a county office where the
office or place of employment of the governmental entity that employs him or her is located;
(B) The licensee's principal place of employment is within the courthouse, the courthouse annex, or other
building owned, leased, or regularly used by the county for conducting court proceedings or housing
a county office; and
(C) The quorum court by ordinance approves a plan that allows licensees permitted under this
subdivision (5) to carry a concealed handgun into the courthouse, courthouse annex, or other
building owned, leased, or regularly used by a county for conducting court proceedings as set out
by the local security and emergency preparedness plan;
(6) (A) Any courtroom.
(B) However, nothing in this subchapter precludes a judge from carrying a concealed weapon or
determining who will carry a concealed weapon into his or her courtroom;
(7) Any meeting place of the governing body of any governmental entity;
(8) Any meeting of the General Assembly or a committee of the General Assembly;
(9) Any state office;
(10) Any athletic event not related to firearms;
(11) (A) A portion of an establishment, except a restaurant as defined in § 3-5-1202, licensed to dispense
alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises;
(B) A person with a concealed carry endorsement under § 5-31 73-322(g) and who is carrying a
concealed handgun may not enter an establishment under this section if the establishment places
a written notice as permitted under subdivision (18) of this section prohibiting a person with a
license to possess a concealed handgun at the physical location;
(12) (A) A portion of an establishment, except a restaurant as defined in § 3-5-1202, where beer or light
wine is consumed on the premises;
(B) A person with a concealed carry endorsement under § 5-3 73-322(g) and who is carrying a
concealed handgun may not enter an establishment under this section if the establishment places a
written notice as permitted under subdivision (18) of this section prohibiting a person with a
license to possess a concealed handgun at the physical location;
(13) (A) A school, college, community college, or university campus building or event.
www.handgunlaw.us 6
(B) However, subdivision (14)(A) of this section does not apply to:
(i) A kindergarten through grade twelve (K-12) private school operated by a church or other place
of worship that:
(a) Is located on the developed property of the kindergarten through grade twelve (K-12)
private school;
(b) Allows the licensee to carry a concealed handgun into the church or other place of worship
under this section; and
(c) Allows the licensee to possess a concealed handgun on the developed property of the
kindergarten through grade twelve (K-12) private school under § 5-73-119(e);

(ii) A kindergarten through grade twelve (K-12) private school or a prekindergarten private school
that through its governing board or director has set forth the rules and circumstances under
which the licensee may carry a concealed handgun into a building or event of the kindergarten
through grade twelve (K-12) private school or the prekindergarten private school;
(iii) Participation in an authorized firearms-related activity;
(iv) Carrying a concealed handgun as authorized under § 5-73-322; or
(v) A publicly owned and maintained parking lot of a college, community college, or university if
the licensee is carrying a concealed handgun in his or her motor vehicle or has left the
concealed handgun in his or her locked and unattended motor vehicle;
(14) Inside the passenger terminal of any airport, except that no person is prohibited from carrying any legal
firearm into the passenger terminal if the firearm is encased for shipment for purposes of checking the
firearm as baggage to be lawfully transported on any aircraft;
(15) (A) Any church or other place of worship.
(B) However, this subchapter does not preclude a church or other place of worship from determining who
may carry a concealed handgun into the church or other place of worship;
(C) A person with a concealed carry endorsement under § 5-16 73-322(g) may not enter a church or
other place of worship under this section if the church or other place of worship places a written
notice as permitted under subdivision (18) of this section prohibiting a person with a license to
possess a concealed handgun at the physical location;
(16) Any place where the carrying of a firearm is prohibited by federal law;
(17) Any place where a parade or demonstration requiring a permit is being held, and the licensee is a
participant in the parade or demonstration; or
(18) (A) (i) Any place at the discretion of the person or entity exercising control over the physical location
of the place by placing at each entrance to the place a written notice clearly readable at a distance of not less
than ten feet (10') that "carrying a handgun is prohibited".
(ii) (a) If the place does not have a roadway entrance, there shall be a written notice placed anywhere
upon the premises of the place.
(b) In addition to the requirement of subdivision (18)(A)(ii)(a) of this section, there shall be at least
one (1) written notice posted within every three (3) acres of a place with no roadway entrance.
(iii) A written notice as described in subdivision (18)(A)(i) of this section is not required for a private
home.
(iv) Any licensee entering a private home shall notify the occupant that the licensee is carrying a
www.handgunlaw.us 7
concealed handgun.
(B) Subdivision (18)(A) of this section does not apply if the place is:
(i) A public university, public college, or community college, as defined in § 5-73-322, and the licensee
is carrying a concealed handgun as provided under § 5-73-322;
(ii) A publicly owned and maintained parking lot if the licensee is carrying a concealed handgun in his
or her motor vehicle or has left the concealed handgun in his or her locked and unattended motor
vehicle.
(iii) A parking lot of a private employer and the licensee is carrying a concealed handgun as provided
under § 5-73-324.
(C) The person or entity exercising control over the physical location of a place that does not use his,
hers, or its authority under this subdivision (18) to prohibit a person from possessing a concealed
handgun is immune from a claim for monetary damages arising from or related to the decision not to
place at each entrance to the place a written notice under this subdivision (18).
(19) (A) (i) A place owned or operated by a private entity that prohibits the carrying of a concealed
handgun that posts a written notice as described under subdivision (18)(A) of this section.
(ii) (a) A place owned or operated by a private entity that chooses not to post a written notice as
described under subdivision (18)(A) of this section may provide written or verbal notification to
a licensee who is carrying a concealed handgun at the place owned or operated by a private
entity that carrying of a concealed handgun is prohibited.
(b) A licensee who receives written or verbal notification under subdivision (19)(A)(ii)(a) of this
section is deemed to have violated this subdivision (19) if the licensee while carrying a concealed
handgun either remains at or returns to the place owned or operated by the private entity.
(B) A place owned or operated by a private entity under this subdivision (19) includes without limitation:
(i) A private university or private college;
(ii) A church or other place of worship;
(iii) An establishment, except a restaurant as defined in § 3-5-1202, licensed to dispense alcoholic
beverages for consumption on the premises; and
(iv) An establishment, except a restaurant as defined in § 3-5-1202, where beer or light wine is
consumed on the premises; or
(20) A posted firearm-sensitive area, as approved by the Department of Arkansas State Police under § 5-73-
325, located at:
(A) The Arkansas State Hospital;
(B) The University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences; or
(C) A collegiate athletic event
  Resident Permit Reciprocity:
Disclaimer:
While Concealed Carry Inc strives to maintain legal reference information updated on this website; you as the reader and gun owner are responsible to do any and all necessary research and consult with a local attorney before making any decisions. Concealed Carry Inc is not liable for any misinformation, inaccuracies, or actions taken based on this information. We are not attorneys and this information is not legal advice. If you see any information you feel is outdated or incorrect please contact us.

Legal Summaries for all 50 states are available free on our site and mobile app.