Kansas Gun Laws
Open Carry: Unrestricted in most public areas Duty to Notify Law Enforcement: Only when asked by the officer State Parks: Lawful for citizens 21 yrs or older Restaurants Serving Alcohol: Not restricted unless premises is "posted" Firearms at Colleges: Concealed guns allowed by law, but schools limit locations/who carries Firearms at K-12 Schools: Kansas permittee with loaded handgun lawful in vehicle only. Magazine Capacity Limitations: No restrictions Suppressor Ownership: Lawful Vehicle Possession by Non-Permitees: Loaded firearms may be carried anywhere in a vehicle by law-abiding persons 21 years and older. Firearm Law Uniformity: Uniform throughout Permit Training Requirements: You must take a class from an instructor on the approved/certified list maintained by the state. Class will last at least 8 hours and will include live fire. Permit Issuing Authority: County Sheriff May/Shall Issue: Shall Issue State Website: link Length of Permit Validity: 4 Years Permit Application Process: Apply at your county sheriff office. Non-Resident Permits: Only military stationed in Kansas may obtain a non-resident permit. Places Off Limits: K-12 Schools both Public and Private Buildings.
The State School for the Deaf and Blind.
A state or municipal-owned medical care facility.
A community mental health center organized pursuant to K.S.A.19-4001 et seq., and amendments
An indigent health care clinic
Any building owned or leased by the authority created under the university of Kansas hospital
authority act, any building located within the health care district, as defined in the unified government
of Wyandotte county and Kansas City, Kansas City-wide master plan
All places “Off Limits” must be posted with approved signage as defined by the Attorney General
No employer may prohibit possession of a handgun in a private means of conveyance, even if parked
on the employer’s premises
Secure areas of any buildings for a correctional facility, jail facility or a law enforcement agency are
Chief Judges of judicial districts are given specific authority to limit the presence of weapons in their
courtrooms and ancillary courtrooms, provided the court room has adequate security.
Possession of a firearm under the influence of alcohol or drugs is a class A nonperson misdemeanor
Resident Permit Reciprocity:
While Concealed Carry Inc strives to maintain legal reference information updated on this website; you as the reader and gun owner are responsible to do any and all necessary research and consult with a local attorney before making any decisions. Concealed Carry Inc is not liable for any misinformation, inaccuracies, or actions taken based on this information. We are not attorneys and this information is not legal advice. If you see any information you feel is outdated or incorrect please contact us.
Legal Summaries for all 50 states are available free on our site and mobile app.