Top Menu

Minnesota Drops Four States and Adds Eight to Reciprocity List

Minnesota Reciprocity Changes 2015In the 2015 legislative session in Minnesota a law passed that changed the requirement for permit reciprocity from the phrase “Substantially similar” to “similar.” Due to this change the Department of Public Safety has re-evaluated the state permits it will honor and has made some significant changes.

Here are the States that Are NO LONGER HONORED in Minnesota:

With the states the stated reason for no longer honoring the permit is also given by Minnesota DPS.

  • Missouri passed a law in 2014 to allow 19-year-old military personnel and veterans to obtain a permit. Minnesota law does not allow issuing permits to anyone under 21.
  • Texas passed a law in 2014 to allow 19-year-old military personnel and veterans to obtain a permit. Minnesota law does not allow issuing permits to anyone under 21.
  • Wyoming law gives local sheriffs discretion to issue permits to 18-21-years-olds. Minnesota law does not allow issuing permits to anyone under 21.  In addition Wyoming law does not require permit-holders to demonstrate shooting proficiency. Minnesota law requires training to include shooting proficiency.
  • Utah law does not require permit-holders to demonstrate shooting proficiency. Minnesota law requires training to include shooting proficiency.

Here are the States that Are NOW HONORED in Minnesota:

  • Delaware
  • Idaho (Enhanced Permit Only)
  • Illinois
  • New Jersey
  • North Dakota (Enhanced Permit Only)
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota (Enhanced Permit Only)

Here is the official DPS website to reference for details and ongoing updates.

Our reciprocity map builder has been updated accordingly.

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to Minnesota Drops Four States and Adds Eight to Reciprocity List

  1. Robert Triphahn August 14, 2015 at 2:52 pm #

    Clarification: Missouri allows 18 year old Military personnel stationed in Missouri to apply for a Missouri CCW permit (2012). Residents at 19 years of age can apply for the Missouri CCW permit (2014).

Leave a Reply