Top Menu

Top 5 Best Non-Resident Concealed Carry Permits

The longer we wait for any sort of Constitutional 50-state carry laws to be passed, the more it seems like it won't happen. So, in anticipation of that I thought it to be prudent to speak about the best non-resident concealed carry permit issuers so you can maximize your ability defend yourself with your gun while you travel.

If you were to conduct a quick internet search, you'd find a lot of junk-information out there and some good stuff that isn't as condensed as what we're about to give you. First, a lot of these “best” lists, include states like Tennessee and South Carolina that, while they may be good to have a non-resident concealed gun permit in, you have to adhere to strict rules like owning land there, or having a job there.

If you live in Pennsylvania like I do, you're not driving to TN for work every day. So, to compile this list, I thought I'd only include those states where you can get your permit in the mail without actually having to physically go, or adhere to strict laws. Here are the top 5 best non-resident concealed carry permits that fit those criteria:

Arizona —

How Easy To Get?

Any existing permit or virtually any in-person firearm safety class qualifies. The cost is only $60 sent via mail.

How Wide Reaching is Reciprocity?


There is a reason why Arizona is one of the go-to out of state concealed carry permits for folks like you and I. It's far reaching, as you can see, and easy to get because it can be done by mail. For more information on how you can get your non-resident Arizona CCW, click on that link.

Utah —

How easy to get?

It is easy to get a Utah permit. The biggest thing for many folks is locating a UT certified trainer, which can be located on their website. They do require that extra bit of training, but it can be done in your home state.

How wide reaching is reciprocity?


Utah is a great state to have a non-resident concealed carry permit in, just because of the amount of states you can carry a gun in with it. Check out their website for more info.

Virginia —

How easy to get?

A Virginia non-resident concealed carry permit is likely the easiest one to get on this entire list. While it doesn't offer up as many states as some others on this list, the ease makes up for it. Whereas other states require in-person training, Virginia is different in that it allows you to take your training online, like the class we offer in our store.

How wide reaching is reciprocity?


If you're looking for ease and the ability to take an in-depth internet-based course, Virginia is the best way to go that offers up a decent number of reciprocated states.

Florida —

How easy to get?

Can be acquired by mail, can take up to 90 days to get, and the cost is right around $100.00. Check out this website for more info and to download the application for non-resident Florida concealed carry permit. Florida requires all applicants to submit proof of training.

How wide reaching is reciprocity?


If you find yourself vacationing in Florida from time to time, and many folks do, this is the only non-resident concealed carry permit from this list that is accepted there.

New Hampshire —

How easy to get?

You can acquire your concealed carry permit through the mail if you're a non-resident for the cost of $100. And, as of 2016, you no longer need to prove that you can carry a gun in your home state. This is great for states where you don't have to (or cannot) get your license/permit to carry a gun. Here's more information on non-resident CCW permits for NH.

How far reaching is reciprocity?


The New Hampshire concealed carry permit should likely be a last-resort for you, unless you absolutely need the ability to not prove that you have a permit in your home state. Then again, if you live in one of the north eastern states like MD, NJ, RI, CT, etc., and find yourself traveling to PA on a semi-regular basis, NH is one of only two non-resident states honored by Pennsylvania.

Did I miss anything? Which non-resident states do you have a permit to carry in? Let us know in the comments below.

, , ,

51 Responses to Top 5 Best Non-Resident Concealed Carry Permits

  1. Jacob Paulsen August 14, 2017 at 10:22 pm #

    A great compilation. Since reciprocity changes all the time, (over 70 recorded changes last year alone) its good to also get additional permits just to protect yourself from changes. I have 4 permits currently and 2 of them don’t provide me with any incremental reciprocity at this time… but that could change in any moment and I’m glad to already have the plastic in hand.

  2. Darkwing August 15, 2017 at 7:53 am #

    I do not need governments permission to protect myself. No matter what that protection is.

    • Ric August 16, 2017 at 2:08 pm #

      Your words are good and true, my friend. But as a Las Vegas resident, over the past several years I have seen the LVMPD shoot and kill two veterans who weren’t threatening them at all. One guy was a West Point graduate, reserve Lt Col who had a CCP and was called in to the cops by a Costco cashier who claimed he was brandishing a weapon in the store, when he had just reached for his wallet and she caught a glimpse of his gun. He was shot down in cold blood outside Costco by a trigger happy cop, when he had no weapon in his hand, only a cellphone. The other veteran was off his meds, disoriented and in his car, stopped, unarmed, when he was killed by multiple gunshots for no reason at all. A CCP is protection most of the time, and CCP insurance is recommended also. But I haven’t carried here in LV because I don’t trust ALL of our police officers to do the right thing ALL of the time. Best regards.

  3. Bill August 16, 2017 at 12:06 pm #

    I have a resident CT permit and both a NH and FL non resident permit. Both non resident permits took less than 3 weeks to obtain once paperwork was submitted. When I applied for the NH it required my CT permit. The FL permit required fingerprints and a copy of an NRA certificate of pistol training. It is also surprising as to how many states honor a CT permit but CT does not reciprocate.

    • Heather November 7, 2017 at 2:55 pm #

      Yup, we are in an ass backward liberal would up here in New England. I’m in MA and amazed that i am landlocked with the exception of VT.

  4. JRME August 16, 2017 at 12:21 pm #

    Resident permits issued by the following states will be recognized in Maine, and Maine permits held by Maine residents will be recognized in these states:
    Alaska – Yes (must be 21 or older)
    Delaware – Yes
    Florida – Yes
    Georgia – Yes
    Idaho – Yes
    Kansas -Yes (must be 21 or older)
    Kentucky – Yes
    Michigan – Yes
    Missouri – Yes
    Nebraska -Yes (must be 21 or older)
    New Hampshire -Yes
    Oklahoma – Yes
    Utah – Yes
    Virginia – Yes (must be 21 or older and possess government issued identification)

    • Jacob Paulsen August 16, 2017 at 12:25 pm #

      JRME, Maine doesn’t recognize any non-resident permits so the above maps are accurate on that count. Thanks!

      • Bob January 3, 2018 at 8:46 pm #

        Try going to the Maine web site before you post lies. Maine will recognize any State permit that recognizes there’s. Its written in plain English.

        • Jacob Paulsen January 3, 2018 at 11:12 pm #

          Bob, I assume this site from the Maine State Police is official enough:

          As you will see if you check it, Maine does NOT honor any non-resident permit.

          “Pursuant to 25 M.R.S. 2001-A (2)(F), Maine will recognize a concealed handgun permit issued by another state to its resident if that state recognizes Maine’s resident concealed handgun permits.”

          So, since the above is a discussion about the best Non-Resident permit I can only confirm that Maine law will NOT recognize any non-resident permit including those from the 5 above states.

          • Kevin February 10, 2018 at 9:48 am #

            The only problem with that, Jacob, is that Maine doesn’t require a concealed carry permit at all. See

            In general, any US citizen i over the age of 21, who is not a prohibited person, can carry a pistol in Maine without a permit.

          • Jacob Paulsen February 10, 2018 at 1:30 pm #

            That is true but permit reciprocity still matters. For example, the federal law prohibits guns within 1000 feet of a school unless otherwise permitted by the state. In Maine, while anyone 21+ can carry concealed without a permit; a valid permit is still required to be within 1000 feet of a school. So there are a lot of reasons why we don’t put out reciprocity maps that just show any state with constitutional carry as honoring all other permits because they don’t. Maine still feels the need, despite allowing permitless carry, to selectively choose what other state permits they are going to honor.

  5. Rod August 16, 2017 at 1:04 pm #

    Please report on Washington resident permit supplemented with an Idaho Enhanced carry permit. It covers Colorado and New Mexico as well…all the western states except Oregon and California.

  6. Chuck August 16, 2017 at 2:33 pm #

    I have Illinois resident and Arizona non-resident. Planning on getting Florida non resident.

  7. Rich August 16, 2017 at 4:41 pm #

    NV has a fairly straight forward non-resident permit process. That state’s permit is recognized by many states.

    • Jacob Paulsen August 16, 2017 at 4:52 pm #

      Rich, I could be wrong but I believe Nevada requires you complete the class in Nevada and apply in person which would disqualify it from our above list.

  8. Milt August 16, 2017 at 4:44 pm #

    So, I filled out the list of resident and non-resident permits, confirmed my subscription and … nothing. Where is my free reciprocity list? Is this a scam to get subscriptions?

  9. Dave August 16, 2017 at 6:05 pm #

    I have a TEXAS non-resident permit (now LTC, or License to Carry). Have had it for about 20 years. It is not easy to maintain this license but it’s good for 5 years now and no intermediate training required. Complete background check and fingerprinting as well as shooting at the range required. Here’s a kicker: last Nov 30, the state of New Mexico, where I have resided for 43 years, made ALL non resident licenses not recognized for New Mexico RESIDENTS. VISITORS from other states with a license and New Mexico reciprocity, may carry for up to 90 days. So New Mexico has rescinded its reciprocity for everybody who lives here. Seems a bit discriminatory to me. There is a small effort to change it back but the Dept of Public Safety is deaf on the matter.

  10. JB September 22, 2017 at 4:29 am #

    Why is the second amendment the only one I have to be licensed to use????

  11. Rosario November 4, 2017 at 8:27 pm #

    So maybe this is a stupid question, but I live in NC…I can carry in almost states. Why would I need a non-resident permint?

    • Jacob Paulsen November 5, 2017 at 8:05 am #

      Rosario, you really don’t need one currently. The NC permit has amazing reciprocity and you really don’t stand to gain anything by adding any of these permits.

  12. Susan December 8, 2017 at 1:43 pm #

    Please correct me if I am wrong. I have a TN Resident CCW, I believe that I have reciprocity in all but 13 states, and it appears that adding any of these Non-Resident permits will not change that. It looks like, even with adding ALL of the 5 above, I still could not legally carry in those same 13 states. Is that right?

    • Jacob Paulsen December 8, 2017 at 2:08 pm #

      You would add the State of Washington which does not honor your TN permit but does honor the UT non-resident permit.

  13. Roger Rose December 11, 2017 at 11:26 am #

    I took the tutorial or training for Virginia , they said I passed . They told me to pay them . I did , it was charged to my credit card . They got the money . That is last I heard from them . This was a few months ago . They got paid , I got squat !

    • Jacob Paulsen December 11, 2017 at 11:34 am #

      Roger, who is “they?” The state doesn’t provide the training so you took it from a private third party. It wasn’t us (at least I couldn’t find an order from your email address in our system). I suggest you dispute the charge on your credit card from whatever company you paid.

  14. jlhemingway December 17, 2017 at 11:40 pm #

    Am I reading this correctly that a NH nonresident permit will be honored in Pennsylvania?

    • Jacob Paulsen December 18, 2017 at 9:15 am #


      • Harry December 26, 2017 at 3:33 am #

        Hi, thank you for this information however, can you kindly point out where it states that the PA will accept NH non-resident permits? In the reciprocity agreement it states “the citizens of the state of New Hampshire and the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania”.

  15. Jerry December 26, 2017 at 9:04 pm #

    I have six nonresident ccw permits, they are; Utah, Arizona, Florida, Maine, Connecticut and New Hampshire. New Hampshire was the quickest and easiest to obtain, with Connecticut taking the longest to obtain. My goal is to obtain a NYS non resident ccw permit therefore I will not have to depend on HR38 passing the Senate and being signed into law.

    • Justin Navarette March 1, 2018 at 6:48 pm #

      Jerry there is no such thing as a non resident permit in NYS. You must be a resident to obtain a permit in NY. Reciprocity here is basically non existent as well…

      • AndrewG March 7, 2018 at 8:47 am #

        Justin – Someone told me today that as a NYer I could get the VA and then UT non-resident permits in order to bypass NY laws and permits.

        That sounds incorrect to me.

        If I am a NY resident then I have to have a NY permit in order to own a handgun in NY, correct?

        • Jacob Paulsen March 7, 2018 at 11:43 pm #

          You are correct. You certainly can go and get the VA or UT permits but they don’t help you in any way so long as you are in NY.

  16. Ross December 29, 2017 at 8:33 am #

    I am an Arizona resident, Colorado does recognize an Arizona CCW permit. I checked the site this morning.

    • Jacob Paulsen December 29, 2017 at 8:39 am #

      Ross, thanks for your comment. None of the above 5 mentioned non-resident permits are valid in Colorado. The maps reflect as much. However, Colorado DOES honor the Arizona RESIDENT permit. Here is a link to the Colorado Gov site where you can confirm:

  17. bill allbritton December 29, 2017 at 12:11 pm #

    I took an online training course for a Virginia non resident permit. I paid $65 and passed with flying colors. My certificate was sent via e-mail with my name printed on it but when I printed one off my name was not on it. I printed 20 in a row.No name. Is this thing good or did I waste my money to a scam artist? I HAVE SENT E-MAILS ASKING FOR AN EXPLANATION BUT TO DATE ,NO REPLY!!!!!!!!!!!! got any suggestions? I also have all my paperwork ready to send to the Virginia State Police but I am afraid I will look like an idiot if this training certificate is bogus.

    • Jacob Paulsen December 29, 2017 at 12:13 pm #

      Bill, I would contact the company you paid the $65 to and ask for a refund and/or see if they can resolve your issue with printing. We also sell an online class for Virginia for only $39. If you get the refund from the 3rd party you can buy ours and pocket the difference…

  18. Bob January 8, 2018 at 10:52 am #

    I am a part time Florida resident but spend most of my time in NJ. I have non-resident permits from Arizona, New Hampshire and Florida. I’m curious about South Carolina and reciprocity with Florida. I understand that it only applies to Florida “Residents,” but doesn’t say anything about whether part year is enough, and what documentation should be carried if you are not a full time resident. I can purchase a handgun in Florida, because I own land there and reside there some of the time. As I understand it, Florida does not distinguish between resident and non-resident, but you must use your current address as listed on your DL. Any insight would be appreciated.

    • Jacob Paulsen January 8, 2018 at 11:42 am #

      I just checked with our instructors in Florida. They confirmed that the Florida permit residency is determined by if you have a FL Drivers License or if you can prove you own property in Florida. It might be worth calling SLED (South Carolina Law Enforcement Division) and asking them what they would like to see as far as documentation goes specifically for their state.

  19. James Winchester March 3, 2018 at 1:28 am #

    I just checked and it appears Colorado no longer recognizes any Non Resident permit issued by any state.

    • Jacob Paulsen March 4, 2018 at 12:03 am #

      Where did your see that? It isn’t true.

  20. AndrewG March 7, 2018 at 8:50 am #

    All of this is dependent on having a resident permit in your home state, correct?

    As a NY resident I couldn’t simply get a VA and UT non-resident permit and then be able to legally purchase a handgun and carry it… right?

    I’d love an easier process, since my county in NY is about an 18 month process and requires 4 references within my town.

    • Jacob Paulsen March 7, 2018 at 11:42 pm #

      Not the case Andrew. Sorry! NY does not honor the Utah or Virginia permits. Getting either does not grant you the legal ability/authority to carry in New York and does not mean you can forego any other firearm related licensing that may be required to buy, own, or possess a firearm in NYC.

  21. Alcides Perez March 8, 2018 at 3:42 pm #

    Thanks for information, I have a Florida, Utah, Connecticut, Arizona out of state permit. I’m looking to add Virginia and New Hampshire.. Looks like HR 38 is a no go..

  22. Carl Chiarenza March 14, 2018 at 6:13 pm #

    I am a Ohio resident and currently hold a Virginia non-resident CCL. How do I go about getting a resident Ohio CCL?

    • Jacob Paulsen March 14, 2018 at 6:14 pm #

      Take a class from an Ohio instructor. I’m a little bias but I recommend looking here:

      • Carl Chiarenza March 14, 2018 at 6:34 pm #

        Thank you.

  23. Marc March 17, 2018 at 8:58 am #

    As a New York State resident, and I receive my Utah Non-resident concealed carry permit,
    and have access to the 36 states I’m reading about, do I have to pay permit fees for each of those states, either initially or when my Utah Non-resident permit renews?


    • Jacob Paulsen March 17, 2018 at 9:01 am #

      Marc, you only have to pay fees for the Utah permit because it is the only permit you are receiving. Think of it like your driver’s license. When you get or renew your DL you only pay for it in the state that issues the permit despite it being honored by other states. Of course if it was really like a drivers license it would be valid in all 50 states… 🙂

    • Joshua Gillem March 17, 2018 at 9:01 am #

      That’s not a requirement I’ve ever heard of, Marc. To my understanding, you just pay your Utah fees and that permit is good in all states that reciprocate with Utah. Thanks.

  24. Marc March 17, 2018 at 9:27 am #

    Thank you Jacob and Joshua.

    One last, say I am visiting a state like NC or VA, for a week or two, can I then apply for a conceal carry permit in those states, and then purchase a hand gun in that state?
    Understanding that I cannot bring back to NYS.

Leave a Reply