Top Menu

SiderLock – External Safety on Glock Pistol [VIDEO REVIEW]

From the factory Glock handguns have no external safety outside of the trigger safety. Today we review a product that can be installed on the Glock to create a more traditional “button” like safety but, if you plan to install it on your every day carry gun, there are some factors you should consider!

, ,

9 Responses to SiderLock – External Safety on Glock Pistol [VIDEO REVIEW]

  1. Justin April 26, 2016 at 6:47 pm #

    Excellent video!

    • Matthew April 26, 2016 at 7:19 pm #

      Thanks Justin. I appreciate the feedback and I’m glad you liked the information.

  2. Al April 27, 2016 at 12:12 pm #

    I’ve carried a Glock as my duty weapon for many years and I’m very comfortable with the safety situation provided by the factory. Before retiring I was a fiream instructor and SWAT memmer for many years. I now teach NRA pistol classes to people who are not as familiar wit sidearms as we are. Many students comment about the Glock not having a safety because they think a gun with a safety if a safer gun. Glocks actually have three safeties, however, nothing simillar to a 1911.

    The Gloch design was was produced to be a combat weapon for military use and it became a favorite of many law enforcement agencies around the world because of it’s ease of function and reliabitity. I can see why non-professionals would like a safety on the Glock. To start using a Glock with this Siderlock safety would take many hours of practice and I’m not sure even that would be enough if and when a person were to be engaged in something stressful that the shooter wouldn’t fail to disengage the safety.

    For the home defense gun, maybe a good device, for the novive that is starting out another maybe. For those of us who carried the Glock professionally for decades I think not. I will pass on it and use the methods taught to me many years ago, such as keeping my finger off the trigger until I’m on target and ready to shoot. As you know, Matthew, the best safety is between you ears. Good video and good info. Thanks.

  3. matthew April 27, 2016 at 3:51 pm #

    Hi Al, thanks so much for watching the video and for your feedback. I agree that ultimate gun safety is not built into the firearm, but the users actions. That being said, I like this concept for applications where the gun is most likely not going to be used in a ultra stressful situation and drawn from a concealed holster. Inside the home, in a hide-a-way or home defense dedicated safe, this could be something someone could install easily if they like glocks, but just really want a manual external safety as an added layer of protection.

    I was pleasantly surprised that manipulating the safety really didn’t make me feel as if the trigger would be inadvertently squeezed, and when practicing with it I trained my motion to take it off safe by pushing forward. Obviously this was done on the range inducing what physical and mental stress I could, not a true deadly force incident. But, from testing it out I did see it’s merits in certain applications. Home defense, range gun, or a ‘truck gun’ for those truckers that drive cross country and just want something in their cab; this safety is something they could try out. And at the price, and the fact that it doesn’t require a permanent modification, you can always swap back without any damage.

    Thanks again Al, I hope you find the material on this web page passes the test as far as coming from tactically and professionally trained people like yourself. Stay safe!!

  4. Brandon April 30, 2016 at 4:45 pm #

    IoIoououououoououououoool

  5. Yogi Bear May 3, 2016 at 5:57 pm #

    People that are dumb enough to want to put an additional safety on a Glock shouldn’t be allowed to have guns. Glock has spent a ton of money making it one of the safest guns on the planet. Glocks DO NOT accidentally discharged.

    • Matthew May 3, 2016 at 8:05 pm #

      Hi yogi, I agree that glocks and other quality firearms do not discharge accidentally. I think the majority of people who purchase a glock understand they are purchasing a firearm with no external safety outside of the glock trigger safety, and are good with that. I don’t think we should limit gun ownership from someone who likes glock quality but desires an external safety. I know there will be some people out there that this item appeals to, and I wanted to give them the pros and cons before they install it thinking it is a ‘magic bullet’. Thanks for the feedback and watching. For what it’s worth,I like my glock stock as well.

  6. Fred May 4, 2016 at 1:25 pm #

    I appreciate the video instruction. I’m new to firearms even though I served in the Navy 37 years ago. I’ve seen couple of videos where a person shot themselves and that safety probably might have prevented a negligent discharge. While all Safe Action triggers are relatively safe, to have an extra measure of safety might not be a bad idea for home defense. I agree that it takes hours, days, and even constant training to get used to it. But it’s worth considering having one. Thanks for the tips.

  7. Matthew May 4, 2016 at 2:38 pm #

    Hi Fred,
    Thanks for your feedback, and for your service to the country! An additional external, manual safety is definitely appealing to some people. I think it is safe to say that if Glock added a backstop/palm safety similar to 1911’s or the XDS they would still have people purchasing their firearm. I think that safety would be viable for a concealed carry option because it does not require any additional manipulation outside of the normal grip motion. As for the siderlock, I agree with you. While its not preferable for concealed carry, it has its specific application and group of people it is designed for. Like everything else in life there are pros and cons. I am very happy you enjoyed the article and got some good info. Stay safe Sir!

Leave a Reply