Top Menu

SiderLock – External Safety on Glock Pistol [VIDEO REVIEW]

From the factory Glock handguns have no external safety outside of the trigger safety. Today we review a product that can be installed on the Glock to create a more traditional “button” like safety but, if you plan to install it on your every day carry gun, there are some factors you should consider!

, ,

15 Responses to SiderLock – External Safety on Glock Pistol [VIDEO REVIEW]

  1. Justin April 26, 2016 at 6:47 pm #

    Excellent video!

    • Matthew April 26, 2016 at 7:19 pm #

      Thanks Justin. I appreciate the feedback and I’m glad you liked the information.

  2. Al April 27, 2016 at 12:12 pm #

    I’ve carried a Glock as my duty weapon for many years and I’m very comfortable with the safety situation provided by the factory. Before retiring I was a fiream instructor and SWAT memmer for many years. I now teach NRA pistol classes to people who are not as familiar wit sidearms as we are. Many students comment about the Glock not having a safety because they think a gun with a safety if a safer gun. Glocks actually have three safeties, however, nothing simillar to a 1911.

    The Gloch design was was produced to be a combat weapon for military use and it became a favorite of many law enforcement agencies around the world because of it’s ease of function and reliabitity. I can see why non-professionals would like a safety on the Glock. To start using a Glock with this Siderlock safety would take many hours of practice and I’m not sure even that would be enough if and when a person were to be engaged in something stressful that the shooter wouldn’t fail to disengage the safety.

    For the home defense gun, maybe a good device, for the novive that is starting out another maybe. For those of us who carried the Glock professionally for decades I think not. I will pass on it and use the methods taught to me many years ago, such as keeping my finger off the trigger until I’m on target and ready to shoot. As you know, Matthew, the best safety is between you ears. Good video and good info. Thanks.

  3. matthew April 27, 2016 at 3:51 pm #

    Hi Al, thanks so much for watching the video and for your feedback. I agree that ultimate gun safety is not built into the firearm, but the users actions. That being said, I like this concept for applications where the gun is most likely not going to be used in a ultra stressful situation and drawn from a concealed holster. Inside the home, in a hide-a-way or home defense dedicated safe, this could be something someone could install easily if they like glocks, but just really want a manual external safety as an added layer of protection.

    I was pleasantly surprised that manipulating the safety really didn’t make me feel as if the trigger would be inadvertently squeezed, and when practicing with it I trained my motion to take it off safe by pushing forward. Obviously this was done on the range inducing what physical and mental stress I could, not a true deadly force incident. But, from testing it out I did see it’s merits in certain applications. Home defense, range gun, or a ‘truck gun’ for those truckers that drive cross country and just want something in their cab; this safety is something they could try out. And at the price, and the fact that it doesn’t require a permanent modification, you can always swap back without any damage.

    Thanks again Al, I hope you find the material on this web page passes the test as far as coming from tactically and professionally trained people like yourself. Stay safe!!

  4. Brandon April 30, 2016 at 4:45 pm #

    IoIoououououoououououoool

  5. Yogi Bear May 3, 2016 at 5:57 pm #

    People that are dumb enough to want to put an additional safety on a Glock shouldn’t be allowed to have guns. Glock has spent a ton of money making it one of the safest guns on the planet. Glocks DO NOT accidentally discharged.

    • Matthew May 3, 2016 at 8:05 pm #

      Hi yogi, I agree that glocks and other quality firearms do not discharge accidentally. I think the majority of people who purchase a glock understand they are purchasing a firearm with no external safety outside of the glock trigger safety, and are good with that. I don’t think we should limit gun ownership from someone who likes glock quality but desires an external safety. I know there will be some people out there that this item appeals to, and I wanted to give them the pros and cons before they install it thinking it is a ‘magic bullet’. Thanks for the feedback and watching. For what it’s worth,I like my glock stock as well.

    • Paul Stewart February 18, 2019 at 5:11 pm #

      There are numerous incidents involving Glocks inadvertently discharging due to foreign objects pressing against the trigger. This has happened to professional LE’s who train regularly. I can only imagine the mishaps caused by women putting a Glock 43 or 42 in their purse with a round in the chamber. There are any number of objects lying loose in a woman’s purse that could cause a discharge. So there is a need for an external safety to help prevent negligent discharges. I have several double action single action pistols that don’t have external safeties but do have a decocker to aid in lowering the hammer on a live round. I don’t need the decocker, but it does provide a certain amount of safety preventing a slip and possible negligent discharge. A finger diesn’t always have to pull the trigger on a Glock.

      • Matthew Maruster February 18, 2019 at 5:28 pm #

        Thanks for the feedback. I disagree that a Glock handgun needs to have a manual external safety for the gun to be carried safely. More Glock handguns as carried on a daily basis by LEO’s than any other handgun. The number is incidents of negligent discharges are likely hirer in number, but it is impossible to conclude that they are more dangerous than any other similar striker-fires handgun. Especially if you compare the number of incidents with the number of hours where the gun is carried, and this number is obviously impossible to know.

        If one is putting a firearm with or without a manual external safety in a purse without first putting it in a holster, they are wrong. If anyone believes a gun with a manual external safety is inherently safer than one without they are placing their safety on a mechanical device. A gun, no matter how many safeties it has, is not safe or unsafe on its own. The user is what makes the gun safe or not. This is the same rational that legislators use to make their lists of ‘safe guns’ that us commoners are allowed to own.

        If someone wants a manual external safety on their gun great, but it doesn’t make it safer. Many instances of neglent discharges with 1911’s and DA/SA guns with and without decockers.

  6. Fred May 4, 2016 at 1:25 pm #

    I appreciate the video instruction. I’m new to firearms even though I served in the Navy 37 years ago. I’ve seen couple of videos where a person shot themselves and that safety probably might have prevented a negligent discharge. While all Safe Action triggers are relatively safe, to have an extra measure of safety might not be a bad idea for home defense. I agree that it takes hours, days, and even constant training to get used to it. But it’s worth considering having one. Thanks for the tips.

  7. Matthew May 4, 2016 at 2:38 pm #

    Hi Fred,
    Thanks for your feedback, and for your service to the country! An additional external, manual safety is definitely appealing to some people. I think it is safe to say that if Glock added a backstop/palm safety similar to 1911’s or the XDS they would still have people purchasing their firearm. I think that safety would be viable for a concealed carry option because it does not require any additional manipulation outside of the normal grip motion. As for the siderlock, I agree with you. While its not preferable for concealed carry, it has its specific application and group of people it is designed for. Like everything else in life there are pros and cons. I am very happy you enjoyed the article and got some good info. Stay safe Sir!

  8. Hal March 24, 2018 at 10:47 am #

    It’s true the purchaser and owner of a Glock is, or should be, familiar with their firearm and how it functions. The one big plus for the Siderlock feature is in the rare event someone who is not familiar with the gun and happens across your Glock when you are not present. A child or unfamiliar adult for example. This added feature of safety could save a childs life.

  9. Donald Ducko April 23, 2018 at 12:08 pm #

    First off let me say great video. Excellent job. As someone who helped design the original Glock, has carried a Glock since birth, whose wife gave birth to two glocks, who has carried a Glock in both world wars/Vietnam/Korea/Iraq, is on a SWAT team, teaches every class known to man and even taught the NRA everything they know I am not sure I would be comfortable using this safety in a stress situation.

    Ok. Someone try to beat my resume. I dare you.

    • Matthew Maruster April 23, 2018 at 1:04 pm #

      Hahahah great comment lol. Say hello to Gaston for me 🙂

  10. Bart Douglas April 17, 2019 at 12:22 pm #

    I know of older generations who were taught hunting and some who fought infantry who are use to external safety. This is how many of them role with years of indocrination. Untraining and retraining is futile. These elders should have have such a gun. I believe this for other people too as I think there are other scenarios that appy.

Leave a Reply