Top Menu

CCW Reciprocity Change in New Mexico and Louisiana

Until recently, New Mexico and Louisiana had honored each other’s concealed carry permits. That has now changed.

Now residents of New Mexico will no longer be allowed to carry concealed in the state of Louisiana, and vice versa. As of a few days ago the NM and LA state government sites show the updated lists of what state permits are honored and which are not.

This brings the number of states (we count DC as a state) which honor the New Mexico CCW permit down from 34 to 33, and the Louisiana permit down from 38 to 37. You can find our reciprocity map, here.

However, both New Mexico and Louisiana recognize the Virginia Non-Resident concealed carry permit. So, if you still want to be able to carry in both New Mexico and Louisiana, the Virginia Non Resident Online permit is an easy way you can do that.

, , , , ,

7 Responses to CCW Reciprocity Change in New Mexico and Louisiana

  1. patrick RILEY March 25, 2019 at 3:33 pm #

    that just makes things a little more difficult ,why?

  2. Rusty March 29, 2019 at 3:55 pm #

    Oklahoma recently passed Constitutional Carry Law allowing anyone, who can by law be allowed to own a firearm, to carry without a permit. In states of reciprocity does that allow me to legally carry in other states?

    • Jacob Paulsen March 29, 2019 at 3:59 pm #

      No. Constitutional carry doesn’t come with any reciprocity. That is one reason why OK still does offer/issue permits.

    • Mark April 8, 2019 at 12:58 pm #

      Constitutional Carry is only good in the one state by that state’s residents. WV is also a constitutional carry state, but I just renewed my permit so I can carry where there is reciprocity with our neighboring states, minus a couple.

  3. Boatner Howell August 10, 2019 at 3:25 pm #

    I’m curious (a resident of Louisiana)… Why did the reciprocity change? It doesn’t make sense.

    • Jacob Paulsen August 10, 2019 at 5:19 pm #

      I’m not sure on this one but generally reciprocity changes for one of 3 reasons:
      1: States have specific criteria that determine what other permits they will honor. If another state begins or ceases to meet that criteria then that would require a change.
      2: States change the criteria they use to determine what other state permits they honor.
      3: States will only honor a permit if that state reciprocates. So when one stops the other stops.

  4. Robert Parrott July 19, 2020 at 9:01 am #

    I would still like to know the specific reason(s) why. Is there something that citizens (voters) can do about the situation.

Leave a Reply to Robert Parrott Click here to cancel reply.

All comments are moderated to ensure compliance with our community guidelines