- September 15, 2016 at 8:00 am #82122
May Issue VS Shall Issue: Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents
Issuing Authority: Local Police Department or Sheriff’s Office
Required Training: Required to obtain training from a state certified program that specializing in CCW training.
How to Apply: You can apply at the local Police or Sheriff’s office in which you reside.
Non-Residents: Non-Residents may apply to any Police or Sheriff’s office.
Renewal: You must renew your permit every 5 years.
Processing Time: Up to 120 days
Cost: New permits will cost you $105, Renewals will cost you $70 and duplicates or changes will cost you $25.
Change of Address: You are required to notify the Sheriff that issued you your licence in writing within 30 days of a permanent address change.
Required to Notify Law Enforcement: No
Places Off Limits When Carrying:
Federal restrictions include all Federal Building, National monuments, National memorials, secure areas.
State Restrictions include:
- Except as otherwise provided in subsections 2 and 3, a permittee may carry a concealed firearm while he is on the premises of any public building. 2. A permittee shall not carry a concealed firearm while he is on the premises of a public building that is located on the property of a public airport. 3. A permittee shall not carry a concealed firearm while he is on the premises of: (a) A public building that is located on the property of a public school or a child care facility or the property of the Nevada System of Higher Education, unless the permittee has obtained written permission to carry a concealed firearm while he is on the premises of the public building pursuant to subparagraph (3) of paragraph (a) of subsection 3 of NRS 202.265. (b) A public building that has a metal detector at each public entrance or a sign posted at each public entrance indicating that no firearms are allowed in the building, unless the permittee is not prohibited from carrying a concealed firearm while he is on the premises of the public building pursuant to subsection 4. 4. The provisions of paragraph (b) of subsection 3 do not prohibit: (a) A permittee who is a judge from carrying a concealed firearm in the courthouse or courtroom in which he presides or from authorizing a permittee to carry a concealed firearm while in the courtroom of the judge and while traveling to and from the courtroom of the judge. (b) A permittee who is a prosecuting attorney of an agency or political subdivision of the United States or of this State from carrying a concealed firearm while he is on the premises of a public building. (c) A permittee who is employed in the public building from carrying a concealed firearm while he is on the premises of the public building. (d) A permittee from carrying a concealed firearm while he is on the premises of the public building if the permittee has received written permission from the person in control of the public building to carry a concealed firearm while the permittee is on the premises of the public building. 5. A person who violates subsection 2 or 3 is guilty of a misdemeanor. 6. As used in this section: (a) “Child care facility” has the meaning ascribed to it in paragraph (a) of subsection 5 of NRS 202.265. (b) “Public building” means any building or office space occupied by: (1) Any component of the Nevada System of Higher Education and used for any purpose related to the System; or (2) The Federal Government, the State of Nevada or any county, city, school district or other political subdivision of the State of Nevada and used for any public purpose. If only part of the building is occupied by an entity described in this subsection, the term means only that portion of the building which is so occupied. (Added to NRS by 1995, 2725; A 1997, 63; 1999, 2767; 2007, 1914) NRS 202.265 Possession of dangerous weapon on property or in vehicle of school or child care facility; penalty; exceptions. 1. Except as otherwise provided in this section, a person shall not carry or possess while on the property of the Nevada System of Higher Education, a private or public school or child care facility, or while in a vehicle of a private or public school or child care facility:
Private Property Prohibitions: “We highly recommends that you not enter a place that is posted “No Firearms” no matter what the state laws read/mean on signage. We recommend you print out the No Guns = No Money Cards and give one to the owner of the establishment that has the signage.” As responsible gun owners and upholders of the 2nd Amendment we should also honor the rights of property owners to control their own property even if we disagree with them.” “No Firearm” signs in Nevada have no force of law unless they are posted on property that is specifically mentioned in State Law as being off limits to those with a Permit/License to Carry. If you are in a place not specifically mentioned in the law that is posted and they ask you to leave, you must leave. If you refuse to leave then you are breaking the law and can be charged. Even if the property is not posted and you are asked to leave you must leave. Always be aware of the possibility that responding Police Officers who may have been called without your knowledge and may not know the laws on trespass etc. could arrest you even if you are within the law.
State Website: Nevada
Current Reciprocity Map:
You must be logged in to reply to this topic.