- September 15, 2016 at 7:51 am #82117
May Issue VS Shall Issue: Shall Issue to Residents Only
Issuing Authority: Nebraska State Police
Required Training: You must take a state certified training course proving competency with a handgun within 3 years of the date you apply for your permit.
How to Apply: You can apply for your permit to the Nebraska State Patrol at the Criminal Identification Division in Lincoln Nebraska or any Troop Area Headquarters outside of Lincoln.
Non-Residents: Nebraska does not issue permits to Non-Residents.
Renewal: You must renew your permit every 5 years.
Processing Time: The state must issue your permit within 5 days of a successful background check.
Cost: A new permit costs $100 and a renewal of your permit will cost $50.
Change of Address: Permit holders must notify the Nebraska State Patrol Concealed Handgun Permit Program within 30 days of changing their name or address.
Required to Notify Law Enforcement:
Places Off Limits When Carrying:
Federal restrictions include all Federal Building, National monuments, National memorials, secure areas.
State Restrictions include:
Police, sheriff, or Nebraska State Patrol station or office; Detention facility, prison, or jail; Courtroom or building containing a courtroom; Polling place during a bona fide election; Meeting of the governing body of a county, public school district, municipality, or other political subdivision; Meeting of the Legislature or a committee of the Legislature; Financial institutions as defined by Nebraska Revised Statutes § 8-101(12); Professional, semi-professional, or collegiate athletic event; School, school grounds, school-owned vehicle, or school sponsored activity or athletic event; Place of worship; Emergency room or trauma center; Political rally or fundraiser; Establishment having a liquor license which derives over one-half of its income from the sale of alcoholic liquor; Any place where the carrying or possession of a firearm is prohibited by state or federal law; Any place or premises or employer-owned vehicle where those in control of the place, premises or vehicle have prohibited permit holders from carrying concealed handguns; or Any other place or premises where handguns are prohibited by law or rule or regulation.
Private Property Prohibitions: If a person, persons, entity, or entities in control of the property or an employer in control of the property prohibits a permit holder from carrying a concealed handgun into or onto the place or premises and such place or premises are open to the public, a permit holder does not violate this section unless the person, persons, entity, or entities in control of the property or employer in control of the property has posted conspicuous notice that carrying a concealed handgun is prohibited in or on the place or premises or has made a request, directly or through an authorized representative or management personnel, that the permit holder remove the concealed handgun from the place or premises.
(1) A permitholder who violates subsection (1) or (2) of section 69-2440 or section 69-2441 or 69-2442 is guilty of a Class III misdemeanor for the first violation and a Class I misdemeanor for any second or subsequent violation. (2) A permitholder who violates subsection (3) of section 69-2440 is guilty of a Class I misdemeanor. (3) A permitholder convicted of a violation of section 69-2440 or 69-2442 may also have his or her permit revoked. (4) A permitholder convicted of a violation of section 69-2441 that occurred on property owned by the state or any political subdivision of the state may also have his or her permit revoked. A permitholder convicted of a violation of section 69-2441 that did not occur on property owned by the state or any political subdivision of the state shall not have his or her permit revoked for a first offense but may have his or her permit revoked for any second or subsequent offense
State Website: Nebraska
Current Reciprocity Map:
You must be logged in to reply to this topic.