- September 8, 2016 at 8:25 pm #80550
May Issue VS Shall Issue: May Issue to Residents and Non-Residents
Issuing Authority: For Residents it is your Police Chief or State Police, For Non-Residents you will have to contact the Firearms Record Bureau at 617-660-4780.
Required Training: You will have to complete a required training course given by a Massachusetts state certified instructor within a year of when you fill out your CCW application.
How to Apply: Application and instructions can be found on the Massachusetts State Police Website.
Non-Residents: May apply but there is a possibility you can get a restricted permit, you also need a valid license to carry in your home state to get a non-resident LTC for Massachusetts.
Renewal: Resident LTC’s are valid for 6 years, Non-Resident permits are valid for 1 year
Processing Time: This Process usually takes 2-6 weeks.
Cost: Resident pay $100 for 6 a year permit and Non-Residents $100 for a 1 year permit.
Change of Address: You will have to fill out a Change of Address Notification Form.
Required to Notify Law Enforcement: No
Places Off Limits When Carrying:
Federal restrictions include all Federal Building, National monuments, National memorials, secure areas.
State Restrictions include:
- Mount Greylock State Reservation
- Woods Hole
- Martha’s Vineyard and Nantucket Steamship Authority
- A full list of all the restrictions and laws can be found on the Massachusetts State Police Website.
Private Property Prohibitions: “Handgunlaw.us highly recommends that you not enter a place that is posted “No Firearms” no matter what the state laws read/mean on signage. We recommend you print out the No Guns = No Money Cards and give one to the owner of the establishment that has the signage.” As responsible gun owners and upholders of the 2nd Amendment we should also honor the rights of property owners to control their own property even if we disagree with them.” http://www.handgunlaw.us 5 “No Firearm” signs in Massachusetts have no force of law unless they are posted on property that is specifically mentioned in State Law as being off limits to those with a Permit/License to Carry. If you are in a place not specifically mentioned in the law that is posted and they ask you to leave, you must leave. If you refuse to leave then you are breaking the law and can be charged. Even if the property is not posted and you are asked to leave you must leave. Always be aware of the possibility that responding Police Officers who may have been called without your knowledge and may not know the laws on trespass etc. could arrest you even if you are within the law.
State Website: Massachusetts
Current Reciprocity Map:
You must be logged in to reply to this topic.