- February 15, 2016 at 12:55 pm #21373
The Last Date This Page Was Updated: 07/05/16
May Issue VS Shall Issue: May Issue
Issuing Authority: Connecticut State Police
Required Training: The state requires you complete an approved handgun safety course.
How to Apply: Obtain the required application from your local police. They will provide the list of required documentation. Non-residents call DESPP for the packet.
Non-Residents: Non residents may apply.
Renewal: Permit expires every five years. The renewal fee is $35.
Processing Time: Up to eight weeks
Cost: $70 plus the cost of the National Criminal History Records Check
Change of Address:
Required to Notify Law Enforcement: No
Places Off Limits When Carrying:
Federal restrictions include all Federal Building, National monuments, National memorials, secure areas.
State restrictions include:
- Public or private elementary or secondary school property unless you have permission from school officials.
- Any building in which the chamber of either house of the General Assembly is located or in which the official office of any member, officer or employee of the General Assembly or the office of any committee of the General Assembly or either house thereof is located or any building in which a committee of the General Assembly is holding a public hearing
- Any courthouse
- State worksites
Private Property Prohibitions: Signs do have the force of law.
State Website: Connecticut
Current Reciprocity Map:August 30, 2018 at 7:55 am #452281
Looking for updates on this post (it's currently 8/30/18)-considering getting my CT non-resident permit (I live in NY with Full carry).
Anything specific to be aware of in my wording or reason for requesting permit?
Also, there is very little info on what training courses satisfy their requirements.
I have taken 2 classes (Handgun 102 & 103) @ Sig Sauer in NH; instructors are NRA certified.
You must be logged in to reply to this topic.