Top Menu

Colorado Concealed Carry Permits

Home Forums Discussion by State Colorado Colorado Concealed Carry Permits

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Matt 3 months, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
  • #9652

    Jacob Paulsen

    The Last Date This Page Was Updated: 07/05/16

    May Issue VS Shall Issue: Shall Issue

    Issuing Authority: County Sheriff's offices

    Required Training: State requires some type of firearm safety course within the last ten years. No specific curriculum.

    How to Apply: Present proof of training, government issued photo ID, and the application fee to the county sheriff's office of residence. You can also apply in a county where you own property or have a business registered.

    Non-Residents: Colorado doesn't issue permits to non-residents. Exceptions apply for military.

    Renewal: Permit must be renewed every 5 years. You will not be notified by the state when your renewal is due. Permit may be renewed as early as 120 days before expiration or as late as six months after expiration.

    Processing Time: No more than 90 days.

    Cost: The state fee is a total of $52.50. The county can charge their own fee not to exceed $100.

    Change of Address: Required to notify the issuing Sheriff's office within 30 days of change of address.

    Required to Notify Law Enforcement: Not required to volunteer any information about firearms or permits. However if the officer requests to see your permit you are required to produce it. Also note that they law enforcement officer can temporarily hold your firearm(s) during a confrontation but they are required to return it before discharging you from the scene.

    Places Off Limits When Carrying:

    Federal restrictions include all Federal Building, National monuments, National memorials, secure areas.

    State restrictions include:

    • The property of a public elementary, middle, junior high, or high school unless the firearm remains unseen in a locked car or with the owner in a car.
    • Any city, county, or state building where they actively screen for weapons

    Private Property Prohibitions: The state allows and protects the rights of private property owners to impose firearm related restrictions. No specific requirements exist for the type or placement of signs.

    State Website: Colorado

    Current Reciprocity Map:

    Colorado reciprocity



    Jacob, I thought Colorado was a ten year before renewal?

    Matt Benore

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.