- October 9, 2015 at 1:19 pm #9687
The Last Date This Page Was Updated: 10/9/15
May Issue VS Shall Issue: Shall Issue
Issuing Authority: Department of Public Safety
Required Training: The Department of Public Safety approves the course curriculum and certifies their own instructors
How to Apply: Applications can now be submitted online via the Department of Public Safety website.
Non-Residents: Arkansas doesn’t issue permits to non-residents.
Renewal: Permits must be renewed every five years. You can download a renewal packet from the website. They can be submitted by mail or online. You can renew as early as 90 days prior to expiration and up to 6 months after the expiration date but penalty fees apply for late renewals. The renewal fee is $60. You must also complete an approved renewal course within 12 months of renewing.
Processing Time: No more than 4 months
64 years of age and younger – new application (mailed-in) fees are $139.75
65 years of age and older – new application (mailed-in) fees are $89.75
Change of Address: Within 30 days of a permit being lost or the permittee changing addresses, the licensee shall notify the Director of the Department of Arkansas State Police in writing of the change or loss.
Required to Notify Law Enforcement: You must display both the license, or an electronic copy of the license in an acceptable electronic format, and proper identification upon demand by a law enforcement
Places Off Limits When Carrying:
Federal restrictions include all Federal Building, National monuments, National memorials, secure areas.
State restrictions include:
- Any police station, sheriff's station, or Department of Arkansas State Police station;
- Any Arkansas Highway Police Division of the Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department facility;
- Any building of the Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department or onto grounds adjacent to any building of the Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department.
- However, subdivision (3)(A) of this section does not apply to a rest area or weigh station of the Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department;
- Any detention facility, prison, or jail;
- Any courthouse;
- (A) Any courtroom.
- (B) However, nothing in this subchapter precludes a judge from carrying a concealed weapon or determining who will carry a concealed weapon into his or her courtroom;
- Any polling place;
- Any meeting place of the governing body of any governmental entity;
- Any meeting of the General Assembly or a committee of the General Assembly;
- Any state office;
- Any athletic event not related to firearms;
- Any portion of an establishment, except a restaurant as defined in § 3-5- 1202, licensed to dispense alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises;
- Any portion of an establishment, except a restaurant as defined in § 3-5- 1202, where beer or light wine is consumed on the premises;
- (A) A school, college, community college, or university campus building or event, unless for the purpose of participating in an authorized firearms-related activity or otherwise provided for in § 5-73-322.
- (B) However, subdivision (14)(A) of this section does not apply to a kindergarten through grade twelve (K-12) private school operated by a church or other place of worship that: (i) Is located on the developed property of the kindergarten through grade twelve (K-12) private school; (ii) Allows the licensee to carry a concealed handgun into the church or other place of worship under this section; and (iii) Allows the licensee to possess a concealed handgun on the developed property of the kindergarten through grade twelve (K-12) private school under § 5- 73-119(e);
- Inside the passenger terminal of any airport, except that no person is prohibited from carrying any legal firearm into the passenger terminal if the firearm is encased for shipment for purposes of checking the firearm as baggage to be lawfully transported on any aircraft;
- (A) Any church or other place of worship.
- (B) However, this subchapter does not preclude a church or other place of worship from determining who may carry a concealed handgun into the church or other place of worship;
- Any place where a parade or demonstration requiring a permit is being held, and the licensee is a participant in the parade or demonstration;
Private Property Prohibitions:
(A) (i) Any place at the discretion of the person or entity exercising control over the physical location of the place by placing at each entrance to the place a written notice clearly readable at a distance of not less than ten feet (10′) that “carrying a handgun is prohibited”. (ii) (a) If the place does not have a roadway entrance, there shall be a written notice placed anywhere upon the premises of the place. (b) In addition to the requirement of subdivision (19)(A)(ii)(a) of this section, there shall be at least one (1) written notice posted within every three (3) acres of a place with no roadway entrance. (iii) A written notice as described in subdivision (19)(A)(i) of this section is not required for a private home. (iv) Any licensee entering a private home shall notify the occupant that the licensee is carrying a concealed handgun.
State Website: Arkansas
Current Reciprocity Map:
You must be logged in to reply to this topic.